I lost a few days, somewhere….

August 2, 2013

Pretty, and pretty good, too.

Pretty, and pretty good, too.

Well. Goodness. Here it is nearly a week since I last posted. In the interim, I have rented a new house, formally launched my new business, scheduled my movers, signed two contracts for my new business, and created my website.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em will perhaps forgive me for not having cooked much, let alone posted.

And tonight, I’m going with friends to a Redbirds game, so I will eat a cheese and sausage plate and be a happy camper. Then I will go to another Redbirds game again next weekend, and I may well eat another cheese and sausage plate. Because I can.

But today, I did at least make a very exceptional chicken salad, one that I would highly recommend you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em try. It came from a recipe off the food pages in The Commercial Appeal, and of course, I altered it a bit. Here’s how it ended up:

  • 2 cups shredded, cooked chicken
  • kernels cut from 3 ears of fresh sweet corn
  • 4 slices thick-cut bacon, diced, browned and drained’
  • 1/3 cup mayonnaise (the original recipe called for Greek yogurt, but the only such I had was blueberry, which I did not think would go well)
  • 2 tbsp half and half
  • juice of half a lime
  • salt, pepper and smoked paprika, to taste
  • Avocado half, sliced (for serving)
  • Roma tomato, sliced (for serving)

Combine chicken, corn and bacon in a mixing bowl. Whisk together mayo, half-and-half, lime juice and spices. Toss with the salad ingredients.

Good stuff. I might add a little cayenne pepper next time. I felt right virtuous and healthy and such. Plus, wasn’t it pretty?

I also made some baba ghanoush, with some eggplants I’d roasted t’other night. It wanted some salt and more cumin than I put in it. Not as good as the hummus I made last week, and I used the last of my tahini; got to see if I can find tahini in Paragould, AR, and I’d say it’s doubtful. Hummus may have to wait until I get moved and get my kitchen set up.

Speaking of which, I have been functioning relatively well in a somewhat more minimalist kitchen than what I’m used to. I brought on the temporarily-homeless gig to my friend’s house the bare essentials — my knives, my food processor, and my big cast-iron skillet, and a couple of boxes of spices and  condiments. I’ve gotten along fairly well. Still, it’ll be nice to get into my new kitchen, which is not as large as my previous one but probably has about as much storage space in it. (I’d post a pic, but photobucket is down….)

I’m also working on places to shop. Jonesboro has a great farmers’ market, and I have already been going there.  There’s a source for organic, free-range beef and pork. (Haven’t found chickens and fresh eggs yet, but have no doubt those are available too.) There’s a nice Kroger not far from my house, as well as a Hays and something else, and they’re building a big new Kroger that’ll be convenient, too. There’s a Sam’s, and there’s also a little “country market” that has all kinds of specialty foods, gluten free stuff, spices and so on.  I’ll get it figured out.

And then you ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em can come visit and I can cook for you!

One Response to “I lost a few days, somewhere….”

  1. Toy Lady Says:

    Congratulations – on the new home AND the business – wowsers! 😉


Leave a Reply

