The accidentally gluten free dessert

June 17, 2013

The day after photo. Probably looked better yesterday.

The day after photo. Probably looked better yesterday.

I was cooking dinner for a friend Sunday afternoon, and happened upon a gluten-free version of a favorite dessert that’s been featured on this blog, but not made in a while.

I had taken advantage of the confluence of blueberry and strawberry season at the Farmers Market, and had both. I decided I wanted a dessert that featured both, indeed celebrated both.

So I decided on a blueberry clafouti, topped with strawberries and whipped cream. It became gluten free, a fact I did not realize until this evening, when I dished up a leftover serving of it, when I inadvertently forgot the flour.

Those of you who’ve been faithful readers, or perused the recipe index, will recall the clafouti. It’s another one of the treasures I got from Mark Bittman’s How To Cook Everything, which remains the finest cookbook I have ever purchased. It features some sort of fruit, in what I described as “a custardy cobbler, or a cobblery custard.” It has a cup each of sugar and half-and-half, four eggs, some flavoring (in this case, 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla), and a half-cup all purpose flour, and it bakes up in a 9 x 9 baking dish.

Now, a half-cup of flour in something that’ll serve 6-8 people is not a significant amount of flour, not enough to set off all my gluten issues. But I forgot to put it in, which may in part be due to the fact I had consumed the better part of a bottle of white wine before I put it together.

I wondered why it wasn’t rising in the oven like I was used to, and I kicked the temp up from 350 to 375. It still didn’t rise a great deal, but it did rise, and it browned. And it was most marvelous when topped with strawberries and whipped cream. No, it was not low fat or low-cal. Shut up.

It was a custardy custard. Which is by no means a bad thing. I might do it again, separating the yolks from the whites, whipping the whites and folding them in, to increase the lightness factor.

One warning. It doesn’t hold over so very well. While it was OK in its leftover state, it was far from as delectable as it was warm.

Elsewhere/when in the culinary world, the proliferation of recipe-sharing that has invaded Facebook yielded this gem today:

baked egg in avocado

The day after photo. Probably looked better yesterday.

I have to try that. I love me a baked egg. I love me an avocado. And this is just major cool-looking. Being a huge fan of ouefs en cocotte, my immediate impulse is to figure out how to incorporate avocado into my eggs baked atop cheese grits with cream. Barring that, I’m thinking it’d be good with some paprika and grated Romano.

I packed one box today, and spent the rest of the day online and on the phone. Oh, well. There’s always tomorrow, until there isn’t, and we ain’t there yet. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em want to come over and help pack, come ahead on.

Leave a Reply

