Winding down the kitchen

June 16, 2013

There will be an odd collection of here-and-there cookery over the next two weeks, as I prepare to put my kitchen in storage along with most of the rest of my worldly goods, into storage and become a nomad for a month.

I’m in transition mode, having parted company with my previous employer and currently exploring several alternatives for future employment. There are some questions that are yet to be answered, some details yet to be nailed down, that I’d expected to be complete by now, so I’d back six weeks ago given my landlord notice I’d be vacating the premises June 30.

So I’m going to visit family, travel on a couple of job interviews, visit friends, and generally fritter away the month of July, by the end of which I fervently hope I will find myself settled. Somewhere.

I won’t go into the three options; suffice it to say they’re out there, and something’ll fall into place, and I can let you and y’mama ‘n ’em know.

Meanwhile, I have this fridge-and-freezer-full, not to mention pantry full, of food. And I’ve been contemplating how I’m going to get rid of it all, or at least get it down to the level I can distribute it among the kids’ and friends’ freezers. So I’m cooking some of it. Including the Big Damn Chicken I ordered from JV Farms in anticipation of a weekend guest who’d expressed a wish to try my old fashioned West Tennessee style barbecued chicken.

And then he had something come up and couldn’t come.

And I have this Big Damn Chicken. For which there was no room in the already chock-full freezer. Truth be told, there wasn’t room for him in the fridge.

So I plunked him in the sink, cleaned out the fridge, and stuck him into the fridge. And today, he will get roasted, and served up with some fresh Farmers’ Market veggies. I’ve invited a friend over, and whatever we don’t eat, I’ll send home with her.

Found a recipe for pork chops puttanesca in the NYT today, so I’ll be trying that sometime this week; there’s a pork loan I may sous vide and then stick back in the freezer against going on the grill for the Fourth of July at my daughter’s. I may feed some other friends before the two weeks are out. And then I can cook for the kids when I get to their houses.

Meanwhile, it is time to get about the business of the bird, and putting things into boxes, maybe, as I now have two weeks to complete that chore. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em bear with sporadic posting for the upcoming two weeks of packing followed by a month of so of homelessness.

 

2 Responses to “Winding down the kitchen”

  1. Toy Lady Says:

    Hey, if you find yourself heading in a more northerly direction, look us up!

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    No plans for that direction at this point. But who knows when/if that might change!


Leave a Reply

