Where did the week go?

June 2, 2013

Oh. Yeah. It rained all week. Lots. With thunder and lightning and wind and stuff.

I slept, mostly. Because it was that kind of weather. And watched college baseball and softball. And cooked, a little.

Memorial Day Concert. Perfect weather, good time.

Memorial Day Concert. Perfect weather, good time.

The Memorial Day concert was absolutely lovely. Small town America at its best, perfect weather, nice breeze, great dinner afterward if I DID cook it myownself. I only slightly charred one of the chicken quarters, not enough to harm it. With the potato salad and slaw and beans and strawberries for dessert, it was quite an excellent holiday meal.

Enjoying what will probably be the last of the strawberries this week; we might get one more week out of them, since it hasn’t been too hot. If I can grab one more weekend’s worth, I’ll get some extras and puree and freeze them.  Good stuff later, in smoothies.

Cooked a little this weekend. I did pork chops and steamed sugar snap peas with tarragon and roasted new potatoes with rosemary Friday night. Saturday, it was chicken tenderloins stuffed with pesto and cheese, with an avocado/cucumber/mango salad (recipe here) that was pretty danged good. I marked that one and several others on a Huffington Post column on good things to do with cucumbers in the summer (here), being that I love a cucumber, they’re just coming in high season, and I’ve met only a few cucumber salads I didn’t like. So I suspect I’ll work through several of those during the summer. The cucumber-lime agua fresca from Park Island Market downtown is already one of my favorites; one of the recipes is for a version of that, incorporating mint. Sounds yummy. Sounds like it’d be yummier with a healthy shot of rum in it. Cucumber mojito, anyone?

Pork chop, roasted new potatoes, steamed sugar snaps with tarragon.Yum.

Pork chop, roasted new potatoes, steamed sugar snaps with tarragon.Yum.

Cucumber mango avocado salad, cold sesame sugar snap peas, stuffed chicken tenderloins, capreses.

Cucumber mango avocado salad, cold sesame sugar snap peas, stuffed chicken tenderloins, capreses.

More and more veggies coming in at the market; I got cherry tomatos, green beans, yellow zucchini hybrid squash, yellow crookneck squash. I’m going to cook the green beans with some new potatoes, the way Mama used to (which would be to say, cook them to death), and I’m going to fry squash and onions to go with them and make me some cornbread one day this week.  Have that with some sliced tomatoes and a cucumber salad. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em want to come join me?

Leave a Reply

