Summer market

May 3, 2013

The summer season at the Farmers’ Market begins tomorrow at 7 a.m. At which time it is forecast to be 39 degrees. And that ain’t Celsius.

Screwiest weather I believe I’ve ever seen in a spring. Last year this time it was 90-plus. And of course, it brings all the idjits out of the woodwork pooh-poohing global warming. (Folks, for your Science Friday assignment, learn the difference between Weather, which is what it’s doing today/this week/this month/this year, and Climate, which is the long-term trend that has the polar ice caps melting at an alarming rate.)

Anyway. I shall break out the fleece and the gloves and the hiking boots and betake myself down there, because the publicity allows that at least one vendor will have snow peas — can sugar snaps be far behind? — and the Stutzmans, the Amish farmers, will have tomatoes if I get there early enough. I plan to get there early enough. Then it’s back home to clean the house because they’re showing it tomorrow afternoon, when Lucy and I need to betake ourselves somewhere to get out of their hair.

Then I’m going to come home and do some significant cooking. There was no cooking today, as it was volunteer day at the market co-op, from whence I brought home green garlic and garlic chives and eggs and strawberries and arugula, that being a gift from one of the vendors who had some extra and bagged it up for us volunteers. Not being a huge fan of arugula in salads, I’m going to make some arugula chips, where you toss the arugula with olive oil, salt, smoked paprika and hot sauce and bake it in the oven.

The green garlic will make pesto, which should do double duty as vampire repellent. The garlic chives will make aioli, which will in turn be used on the fish cakes I plan to make tomorrow evening. Stand by for reports on all the above, including my first Arkansas strawberries, for which I need to bestir myself off my lazy arse and make some creme fraiche to go with them, because? There will also be Arkansas strawberries at the market tomorrow, and I plan to buy some more, because when I got my quart container of them today, I surely wished I had gotten two. The Arkansas berry season is short, and every opportunity for the luscious little darlings should be snatched up. I may even cover some in chocolate.

Glad I didn’t buy basil plants last weekend like I’d thought of doing. They don’t like cold nights. Can’t say that I blame ’em.

You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em stay warm, and stand by for good food this weekend.

Leave a Reply

