The accidental appetizer

February 5, 2013

It was a bit of serendipity.

I love it when that happens.

I had two of my Super Bowl super munchies planned, and was casting about for something else. Just in case, y’know. I didn’t want to have to resort to microwave popcorn.

Also a chance to use my mini-bowl insert for my FoPro.

Also a chance to use my mini-bowl insert for my FoPro.

So I resorted to my electronic archive of recipes I’ve copied and pasted from all kinds of places — blogs, newspapers, e-mails, you name it. And I commenced browsing the “appetizer” folder. And there was a recipe for edamame pate.

Which was fortuitous, because I had cooked, the very evening before, some edamame for a dinner party, and had some left over. And who doesn’t love something that’s moderately healthy, and uses leftovers?

I think the recipe came from the Polymath Chronicles blog, but I won’t swear to it. It would have you take three cups of edamame and use a half-cup each of butter, cream and truffle oil, along with salt and pepper, and FoPro the whole mess.

Which I did, with the exception that I used creme fraiche, because I had used all my heavy cream to make the creme fraiche. And being that I had a single cup of edamame, I cut the condiments back to two tablespoons each. Added a touch of sea salt, and a healthy sprinkle of freshly ground pepper.

I tried it with gluten-free crackers, thought “Meh,” and got out the baby carrots. That worked.

We ain't going for presentation points, here.

We ain’t going for presentation points, here.

I believe I’ll try it again and change it up. It’s a touch on the bland side. I think it’d be excellent with a bunch of ginger, some sesame oil, some miso and some mirin, and maybe a touch of sriracha. I just think that flavor profile will fit it better. The peppery truffle plays nicely with the nuttiness of the edamame, but I can’t  help thinking the Asian profile will enhance it.

Anyway, it’s a good thing to do with a soybean. You ‘n y’mama ‘n ’em give it a try.

Leave a Reply

