Hello? Anyone there?

June 24, 2012

 

This would be me, but I’m not blonde.

Well.

You might well note that, from the absence of posts and the allusions to assorted activities, it’s been an eventful, and busy, month.

Child C and Future Son-In-Law have moved in. NS has been moved out; he has some issues which require a different sort of living environment, one where he can get the help he needs. (As an aside, to any of you who cope with mental illness in a friend or family member, I understand your plight much more than I once did.) Work has showered me with projects and assignments on which I am so behind I do not see much hope of ever catching up, or at least not before mid-2013.

So I threw my hands in the air last week, got on a plane, flew to Baltimore, drove to western Maryland, and spent two days at a lovely B&B on a mountain overlooking the Potomac valley, from which I got back last night.

I feel better now.

Particularly since I have done nothing today except cook breakfast and tidy the kitchen a bit. It’s burgers tonight, because it’s too stinkin’ hot to cook inside. And I’m going to spice up pork shoulder per this spice recipe (thanks to the Dark Side of the Fridge blogging couple) this afternoon, preparatory to sticking it in the crock pot in the morning (as we don’t have a pressure cooker) for carnitas tomorrow night.

It’s been pretty much a culinary desert this month, but for a few good meals out and a breakfast or two. But I do feel the need to detail a really, really good breakfast at the B&B, because it included the best waffles into which I have ever sunk a tooth. Worth the leap off the gluten-free wagon, I’m telling you. They are the lightest, most ethereal waffles you can imagine, mere wisps of dough wrapped around air, with a lovely, crunchy shell.

I had decided the getaway would not be gluten free, because, well, breakfast is the meal that likes gluten better than any other meal. And with the proper preventive over-the-counter meds, I can mute the immediate effects, and as long as I don’t overdo it, there won’t be any longterm effects. So I ate the breakfast strata, which had some homemade bread in it, one morning. I drank beer, including a sampling of several amazing craft beers, at a little tavern in Boonsboro that has just wonderful food. (The crab cakes were exceptional.)

And I happily devoured that entire Belgian waffle, and can’t wait to make them for myself one of these weekend mornings.

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1/2 cup lukewarm water ( 105 degrees)
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 ounce active dry yeast
  • 2 cups whole milk, warmed ( about 105 degrees)
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 large eggs, slightly beaten
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  1. The night before, or at least 8 hours before baking, combine the warm water, granulated sugar and yeast.
  2. Let stand 10 minutes, until foamy.
  3. Stir in the warm milk, melted butter, and salt.
  4. Beat in the flour until smooth.
  5. Wrap bowl tightly with plastic wrap and let stand overnight on the counter.
  6. Preheat waffle iron.
  7. While waffle iron heats, stir the eggs, vanilla, and baking soda into the batter.
  8. Follow the manufacture’s directions for making waffles.

I took my first bite (after finishing up the first course of a mixture of Greek yogurt and ricotta cheese, topped with fresh peaches and granola, which was pretty freaking awesome all on its own) and very nearly swooned with delight. There is just no describing how good these are. I begged for the recipe, and our hostess laughed and told me I was the third person to ask for it. It’s the “Good Night Waffles” recipe that came in a booklet with her waffle maker. She had sprinkled them with powdered sugar, which I don’t usually like, but in this case, found good because there is no sugar in the waffles. I think you could sweeten them if you like, but I love the yeasty taste you get from these because of the overnight rise.

This, according to the recipe, makes six Belgian waffles. I’m thinking I’ll half the recipe when I make it, unless you and y’mama ‘n ’em are all coming over for breakfast. She served them with a pile of fresh blueberries, with which I had no quarrel at all.

Make these. You won’t be sorry.

 

3 Responses to “Hello? Anyone there?”

  1. Vinny Grette Says:

    I’ve always been afraid to try yeast – so …. alien, somehow. But I’ve been feeling adventuresome these days, and this looks like something that could tempt me over the edge! Will let you know how it goes.

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    I’ll be interested to hear!

  3. Whitney Reynolds Says:

    Love your blog :). My husband works at Fleischmann’s, can hook you up on yeast next time you’re gonna be in town if you let me know…..


Leave a Reply

