Happy Cinco de Mayo!

May 5, 2012

Cinco de Mayo Farmers’ Market haul. Unfortunately, none of it got cooked today.

The first Saturday in May is highly important for two reasons. One, it’s the Kentucky Derby, which I shall plan to come back from taking Child C shopping in Little Rock and enjoy. Two, it’s the first weekend of the spring/summer Farmers’ Market.

I celebrated with a proscuitto, feta and artichoke heart tamale, which can only be had at the market, and it was GOOD, I tell you. I love me some Gusto’s Gourmet Tamales. Picked up fried pies and an everything yeast roll for NS. And scored fresh broccoli, cauliflower, cabbage and yellow squash. And strawberries. And a gift for a dear friend who is graduating from seminary next week (no, it is NOT edible).

I love the Farmers’ Market. They were decorating sombreros, and some classical guitar was scheduled for later. There were crafts, and knife-sharpeners, and half a dozen people selling ready-to-eat. And I had my camera without a memory card. Sigh.

Anyway, I’m going to fry squash and onions, make some broccoli-cauliflower slaw, fry some chicken for the chillun, but that’s going to be tomorrow night, as I was just told by Child C that she has fiance’ family obligations tonight. So I’ll make everything except the squash tonight, recycle the slaw through tomorrow night (I’m the only one who’ll eat it anyway), and pig out on veggies tonight. I have some tomato and cucumber salad left from last weekend that should still be fine, and I’ll make a caprese and with the broccoli-cauliflower, we’ll be good to go.

There are two slabs of ribs in the sous vide bath since last night for dinner tomorrow; I’ll finish them off on a hot grill tomorrow, make some baked beans, some potato salad for me and Child C, and mac and cheese for everyone else. And it will be a good dinner day at Chez Brockwell. Might even make some dessert.

Update No. 1: Bodemeister ran a helluva race, but it was a furlong too long. Congrats to I’ll Have Another. (And I believe I will.)

Update No. 2: Cooking is cancelled. Eating chips, cheese dip and guacamole in honor of Cinco de Mayo, NS is eating pizza. But I have unpacked 46 of the 50 boxes of books. And hung curtains. And Child C’s friend hung pictures. And I am too freaking tired to cook. So you and y’mama ‘n ’em toast me with a cerveza, and I’ll cook tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

