Garden report

April 11, 2012

There they are. Greatest thing for cooking since fire.

I am happy to report the garden survived the move.

From left, basil, mint, chives, sage, rosemary, tarragon. Thyme and oregano in the background on the left.

Because of the freakishly mild winter/early spring we’ve enjoyed here, my herbs never really died off during the winter, and are positively thriving this spring. The sage, mint and chives have come back for their third year with a vengeance. The tarragon is looking pretty promising. There’s oregano peeking out amid the thyme. The rosemary, which is an evergreen anyway, has put on a growth spurt. And I’ve planted this year’s basil and added a new child to the garden — a bay laurel tree.

 

Welcome to the herb garden, Bay Laurel.

 

I figure give the basil a month, and it’ll be good to go; maybe before that for capreses. I’ve never tried bay laurel before, so we’ll see on that one. But I have sugar snap peas from the co-op, and I am aching to have them with the tarragon.

Potential tomato bed.

I also have a nice bed on the back (north) side of the house. I’m thinking tomatos. And if those do well, there’s a big honking piece of side yard that I could get tilled up into a series of garden beds — cucumbers, squash, etc.

My parents are laughing at me. I can hear them. As much as I bitched and moaned about working the garden and the truck patch when I was a kid, and here I am actually looking at urban farming?

Well, seriously. That was  an acre-and-a-half garden. I’m talking perhaps, max 250 square feet, OK? We’re talking a difference of scale, here.

And an asparagus bed. Because, well, asparagus.

Chez Brockwell. If I replace children with bulbs and azaleas...

There are beds in front of the house, too. I’m thinking bulbs. Iris in the back, tulips in the middle, then daffodils, then hyacinths and crocus. All in front of the front porch. Azaleas along the rest of the front of the house. Once I get the fence run, more azaleas in between the fence and the driveway. Because I like me some azaleas.

And I want two Adirondack chairs on the front porch. Painted white. Just because.

Happy gardening to you and y’mama ‘n ’em.

4 Responses to “Garden report”

  1. planthoarder Says:

    Sounds like your front yard will be very pretty.

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    @planthoarder, thanks! Now, if you wanted to come over and help, I would not take it amiss. And I’d cook for you.

  3. Karen Says:

    I love Adirondack chairs…they are comfortable and welcoming. Good luck with your garden this year.

  4. planthoarder Says:

    I’d love to have you cook a meal for me, but Arkansas is a bit out of the way from Wisconsin.


Leave a Reply

