Breakfast!

January 14, 2012

A fitting and suitable breakfast upon which to go gambling for the afternoon.

You lucky people are getting two posts in a row here, because I just posted the one I wrote early this morning on the iPad, which pretty much sucks for posting, not least because I cannot download photos to it (or if I can, I can’t figure out how), and because I cooked a damn fine brunch today and I am killing time waiting for the confit duck legs to come out of the oven so I can put the pork roast in.

The dark specks are bacon fond, which makes the latkes Methodist.

This morning, we had Methodist latkes, country bacon and over easy farm eggs with apple butter from the community market.

Honey. I am replete. Two Sweet Baby Jesus meals in a row. I may not can play the horses worth a diddly-damn, but I can surely cook this weekend. Or am batting 1,000 at it right now, in any event.

These are Methodist latkes because they are, besides being consumed side by side with bacon, cooked in bacon fat. Even if you’re Reform, I don’t think that flies, at least not without a primal cringe. Forgive me, my Jewish friends. I’m glad I’m nominally Methodist, as much as I’m anything; could not deal with cringing over my pork and shellfish.

These are also gluten free latkes. No matzoh meal for me in these babies; the onset of the gluten free diet has caused me to accumulate about a bajillion different kinds of flour, including potato starch. Seemed reasonable to me that the proper GF flour to put into latkes would be potato starch, no?

Potato starch, yes, with a note of caution. These were some Extremely Wet Potatos, which, even after I drained them in the colander for 20 minutes and pressed liquid out, took a significant amount of potato starch to bind. They turned out just a touch gummy. Next time, I’ll put the grated potatos in some cheesecloth and wring it out first.

Methodist Latkes:

  • 4 russet potatos
  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • 2 eggs
  • about 1/2 cup potato starch flour
  • salt and pepper

Peel and chunk up the onion and pulse it a few times in the FoPro. Leave it there while you peel the potatos; chunk them up and add them to the onion, and pulse them long enough to get them grated to your satisfaction. Dump the whole mess in a colander lined with cheesecloth and let it drain for 15 or 20 minutes while you do something else. Come back and gather up the cheesecloth full of drained potatos and wring and squeeze them until you’ve squeezed out as much moisture as you can.

Put the wrung-out potatos in a bowl, add the eggs and hit it with a dash of salt and pepper; stir. Add potato starch a little bit at a time, just until it looks like the batter will hold together when you fry it.

Fry about four slices of bacon in a skillet. Take the bacon out to drain, and in the hot bacon fat over medium high heat, put spoonsful of latke batter. I use my 1/4 cup measure; it makes them about the size I want, which is between 3 and 4 inches across. You may need to flatten thems slightly. Let fry until you can see a nice bit of golden brown around the edges, flip, and brown the other side. Let drain on a rack over paper towels in a warm oven while you fry the rest of ’em.

Top with an over-easy egg, also fried in the bacon fat. Ignore the twinges of conscience about your cholesterol and arterial condition. It’s Saturday. You can eat whatever the hell you want to, particularly if you are going to the track afterward.

Which I am fixing to do. It’s 50-cent corned beef sammich day. I plan to buy four, discard the bread, and use the corned beef in hash tomorrow morning.

I’ll see you and y’mama ‘n ’em at the finish line.

One Response to “Breakfast!”

  1. Melissa Says:

    ACK! Eat at least ONE bite for me before discarding bread!

    I hope you did well today–it’s not been a winning day for me, so far–but it’s such a blast watching all day on tv!

    I just poured a glass of wine….maybe that will change my luck lol.


Leave a Reply

