Baking for the New Year

January 2, 2012

I have baked.

I have baked this:

NS and Child C's favorite Chocolate Chip Pound Cake.

And these:

Coconut macaroons. Delectable little things, though I almost let them get too brown.

I have, btw, perfected the macaroons. For four dozen, I used eight cups of coconut, five eggs, a teaspoon of almond extract and a cup of almond meal. The addition of almond meal means they hold together better and you can shape them, instead of making little haystacks.

And I’ve adventured in to the gluten-free world a bit further to bake these crumpets from The Gluten-Free Gourmet Bakes Bread.

Not bad. Not bad at all, for fake bread. I can tweak it and improve it.

These are interesting. They’re made with a rice/tapioca/potato flour mix that is a commercial baking mix (mine was Bob’s Red Mill). Tasting the batter — because it is a batter, and not a dough — it tasted very “ricey,” and not very good, so I didn’t have much hope for these. But I turned out to be fairly impressed.

They taste much like the old school lunchroom yeast roll, a touch on the heavy side but just a good, homey roll. Very yeasty taste (to be expected, with 2 1/2 teaspoons of yeast in the mix, I guess). Nice crumb. No discernable rice taste. Quite soft and moist and flexible, unlike lots of GF breads that are crumbly and break. And with a schmear of bacon jam, it made a right respectable breakfast.

They look, well, like a roll. Taste like one, too.

Weird baking experience. I went ahead and used Miz Scarlett, as I had her out to mix up the chocolate chip pound cake I’d made for NS. I knew the result would be a batter, as opposed to a dough. And it was. Thicker than a cake batter — maybe about like a pound cake batter. So I got out my English muffin rings, as directed, put them on a cookie sheet, and sprayed them with non-stick spray. And since I had only four rings, and the recipe made six crumpets, I used a couple of biscuit cutters, so I had four the same size, one bigger one, and one smaller one.

I’ll be interested to see how the leftovers taste today, toasted (something I’m going to try here in a minute).

Here’s the recipe:

  • 1 1/2 cups gluten free flour mix
  • 1  tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tbsp egg replacer
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil or melted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 teaspoon dough enhancer
  • 1 1/2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 2 1/2 tbsp active or rapid-rise yeast
  • 1 cup warm water

Preheat oven to 375. Put six English muffin rings on a cookie sheet, and spray the inside of them with cooking spray. Mix 1/2 tbsp of the sugar into the warm water, add the yeast and set aside. 

Whisk together the remaining dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, beat the egg with the oil/butter or vinegar, then add the yeast mixture. Add the flour mixture in two separate batches, mixing well after each.

Spoon into muffin rings, cover with a clean towel, and allow to rise until doubled (about 40-50 minutes, for regular yeast) and bake for about 20 minutes and pulling slightly away from the rings. Remove the rings while crumpets are still warm.

Recipe says you can use it for pizza crust — pour it into a greased pizza pan, spread out to the edges, add the toppings and bake.

I used melted butter in mine, because I thought it’d taste better, and it did. I would also note that, per usual, I didn’t read the directions very well, dumped the yeast in with all the dry ingredients, and mixed the water in with the wet stuff. It worked fine.

I was bemused to see all the stuff you have to do to jack that stuff up into rising. I mean, a packet of yeast, baking powder, egg replacer AND an egg? It does note that if you double the recipe, to not double the yeast.

The rolls/scones/crumpets/whatever would be good with assorted savory additions, I think; I can see adding cheese and hot sauce to make an approximation of my spicy cheese bread. And realistically, it’s nice to have recipes that make a manageable amount of bread. Anyway, I am thinking that perhaps this gluten-free business may not be as bad as I thought.

You and y’mama ‘n ’em come by and try some of it, and while you’re here, you can help make fudge, which is on today’s agenda.

One Response to “Baking for the New Year”

  1. Pamela Coulter Says:

    Hey give me your Macaroon recipe nick loves macaroons I want to try to make them you see I said try lol


Leave a Reply

