It just figures

December 28, 2011

I am proof positive that God has a warped sense of humor.

Just when I get into a routine of baking bread every weekend…just when it gets cold enough it’s fun to get in the kitchen and bake bread…less than a year after I took the plunge and acquired Ms. Scarlett….

I get diagnosed with freakin’ celiac disease.

No big deal — I mean, it won’t kill you, and it doesn’t involve constant meds or any extensive treatment. For those unfamiliar with celiac disease, it involves a deterioration of villi in the intestinal wall due to gluten intolerance. So, no more gluten.

As in wheat flour. As in barley. As in rye. As in bread and pasta.

Dammit.

I’ve known about this for a couple of weeks, but am just now getting around to accepting it — admitting it, and dealing with the fact that I’m going to have to make some changes in diet to accommodate it. Plus I wasn’t going to jack with Christmas and travel menus.

So now I’m home, have pigged out on yeast rolls one last time, and now I’ve ordered a gluten-free baking book and  am trolling the Web for gluten-free yeast bread recipes. Fortunately, I’m convenient to a store that has all kinds of off-the-wall flours, so I don’t have to buy the quite pricy Bob’s Red Mill stuff. And apparently, a good all-purpose gluten free baking flour mix consists of two cups of rice flour, 2/3 cup potato starch, and 1/3 cup tapioca flour. I’m also seeing xanthan gum a good deal, and I know I can get that there.

So, this will be a new adventure. You and y’mama ‘n ’em just do me a favor and don’t send me biscuits. I may cry.

4 Responses to “It just figures”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    And Child B is long-term gluten intolerant. I wonder if there’s any sort of connection between the two.

    Sorry to hear this, but I know you’ll make the best of it!

  2. Terre McLendon Says:

    Well, that just sucks. On the other hand, I can’t think of anyone better to experiment and find ways to make non-gluten grains taste spectacular! Just think–you could be the Julia Child of the gluten-free community!

  3. Toy Lady Says:

    Aww. . . nuts. You’ll find plenty to keep Miz Scarlett busy before too long, though.


  4. Good luck. I’m just over a year from diagnosis. Not easy to give up all those yummy things but I’m slowly getting used to it.


Leave a Reply

