Lost and found

November 9, 2011

Went to download some scenic photos I’d taken this week, and discovered this.

A roast that had gone AWOL, discovered and preserved for posterity.

It dates from weekend before last, and I don’t guess I ever posted it, as I’m pretty stringent about deleting stuff once I pull it off the camera’s memory card.

It was an eye of round that I’d marinated overnight in a bottled jerk sauce, because, well, I thought it’d taste good. And it did. Tough, though. I’m about to give up on roast beef that isn’t braised. I can braise hell out of some beef, but I can’t cook it to a lovely medium rare and have it tender to boot. Probably has to do with buying it at Kroger. I’ll get my PJF folks to get me a good rib roast one of these days, and try again.

In any event, I saved it with the notion of making beef and barley soup with it. And now I’ve probably saved it for too long, and will have to regretfully throw it out. Which is the fate with way too much stuff I cook because? I cook too much! Both in volume per dish, and in dishes; I need to learn to pare back.

But I do love it so.

Even tonight, which was the braised country style ribs left from last night, when they were not eaten because Child C and Boyfriend showed up and she had preordered tortellini in pesto cream sauce. So, of course, being adept at child-spoilage (as well as food spoilage, but they’re different), I fixed it for her.

And it’s dead easy, especially if you’re using frozen tortellini from the grocery. I used about 1/4 cup of my homemade pesto, frozen since back in the summer. Sauteed a shallot (Boyfriend doesn’t like onion, so I used a shallot, minced really fine. Chuckle.) and added some white wine; reduced that, added the pesto, simmered a while, added a boatload of heavy cream and some grated Parmigiano.

Even NS allowed it was good. And I had heated up some jarred red sauce for him, which he did not eat, so we’re looking at meatball sandwiches sometime this weekend.

Since it’s midweek, I’m looking ahead to the weekend’s cooking. It’s finally turning pretty chilly (38 tonight), so I’m thinking some kind of soup or stew Sunday, that I can eat off of for a while during the week. Contemplating something grilled Saturday, thinking along the lines that there may not be too many more great evenings to grill. I have steaks, but it may just be burgers. Making pizza dough at some point, maybe Sunday so I can make pizza during the week. I have an urge for zucchini bread (don’t ask me why).

This next weekend’s bread, I believe, will be pumpernickel. Because it’s fun to say, and, well, it sounds good. And there’s something sweet, yet to be determined, on my radar.

And, well, damn. It’s late, Joe Paterno just got fired effective immediately vs. resigning at the end of the season, and I’m sad. This is offset somewhat by the fact there is college basketball on TV. I believe I’ll have a glass of wine and call it a night. You and y’mama ‘n ’em stay warm.

5 Responses to “Lost and found”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    And now I’ve probably saved it for too long, and will have to regretfully throw it out. Which is the fate with way too much stuff I cook because? I cook too much! Both in volume per dish, and in dishes; I need to learn to pare back.

    Or have more visitors! 😉 See you next weekend.

  2. Kath the Cook Says:

    The wonders of freezing….meet Kay! and you always have something lovely in the freezer for when cooking doesn’t sound like a good idea. best – kath

  3. Whitney Says:

    Its just me and Jay, so most times I have to throw out most of what i cook (leftover pot roast turned into beef stew, so maybe that’ll take some of that out)

  4. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    I try to cook today with an eye toward what I’m going to use the leftovers for (i.e., pot roast —>vegetable beef soup). But life has a way of getting in the way.

  5. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Only prob, Kath, is that there’s stuff in my freezer now that’s old enough to vote, and I can’t tell through the frost what it is, and I’m awful about not labeling stuff, and there’s No Damn Room in there anyway!


Leave a Reply

