Weekend trivia

October 22, 2011

Completely unrelated to post content, but I made lots o' French toast this morning.

I really don’t plan on becoming one of those once-a-week posters.

But.

I have been at home exactly one evening this week. And that night, I was in bed with the Sinus Infection From Hell. I have done significant drugs since then (Z-pac, sinus cocktail shot, a ton of Benadryl, a ton of nasal spray), and I can now breathe. Most of the time.

Anyway. I left you with Marcella Hazen’s tomato sauce, with which I was underwhelmed. I can report that once you add some spices to it and use it in lasagna, it gets better. We have no pictures of the lasagna because, well, we just don’t. Sorry.

The stuff, though, does have a really nice byproduct. You will recall it calls for a whole onion, peeled and halved, which you then fish out of the sauce and discard. You will also recall I had tripled the recipe, which meant I had three of those puppies. (That would be in addition to the crock pot full I caramelized overnight before making the lasagna, but I digress.)

So I fished them out, and I could not bring myself to throw them away. I could see my grandmother’s ghost, sternly lecturing me about starving children in China. I fished them into a soup bowl that was handy, and there they reposed. Pink from the sauce. Buttery from the two sticks of butter. Tender. Smelling lovely. There HAD to be something I could do with them.

I plopped them back in a saucepan, added a sprinkle of turbinado sugar, a shot of balsamic vinegar, and a pinch of sea salt, and put them back to simmering. For about two hours. And I blended them up with the immersion blender.

Et voila! Onion jam!

This stuff, on a yeast roll from the Farmers’ Market, is TO DIE FOR. And I would show you a picture of it, but dammit, the yeast roll man was Not There at the market this morning. But it looks kinda like apple butter. And tastes like….heaven. I think I’ll go back to the Culinary District and get the remaining Big Damn Can of San Marzanos to put aside against the opportunity to make this stuff again. Even if I do have to season Marcella’s sauce more than Marcella does. Sorry ’bout that, sista.

Words are superfluous. I'm sort of afraid of these zucchini.

What they did have at the market this morning were Big Damn Zucchini. I am talking these babies are as big as my upper arm. I’m going to get out the mandoline, slice one of them very, very thin, and make zucchini chips, and have them with a hamburger patty topped with caramelized onions and blue cheeses, and some stewed fresh pinto beans with tomatos, onion, garlic and oregano.  They had shelled pintos at the market, too.

Other cookery plans for the weekend include a loaf or two of bread (last week’s left some to be desired), some muffins, brunch for a visiting friend in the morning, and braised short ribs tomorrow evening. And I am having a serious jones, for some reason, for some barbecued bologna. May not get to that this weekend, but I’m thinking it’s on the agenda sometime during the week.

Meanwhile, I’m going to concentrate on the TV and see if I can get the Hogs to get their collective head out of their collective nether regions, then go get a manicure, and then cook dinner and try to get the Cards back on the winning track this evening. You and y’mama ‘n ’em enjoy this fine fall weekend.

2 Responses to “Weekend trivia”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    I’m going to get out the mandoline…

    Please use the finger guard and be careful not to slice the fingers again. 😉

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    There was no blood shed. It was a Giant Freakin’ Zucchini, as you saw, and so I didn’t feel bad about throwing the last two inches of it away.


Leave a Reply

