Disparate Saturday stuff

September 24, 2011

What do banana bread, baba ghanoush, Japanese pickles and rib-eye steaks have in common?

I cooked, or am fixin’ to cook, them all today.

Menu Planning R Us.

Yum, I tell you. Even if it DOES want some cinnamon.

It was just one of those happenstance collections of circumstance, centering around the Farmers’ Market and my visiting houseguest and bananas that had to either be used or thrown out. And a Saturday and football and stuff.

Yeah. They had to be used today.

First, the banana bread. I’d bought bananas, must have been two weeks ago. Now, granted, when you buy ’em at the grocery you’ve got to wait damn near a week before they’re fit to eat, but two is pushing it. And I had five of ’em, and just couldn’t bear to throw them out.

So I betook myself to the Pioneer Woman blog, which has some fine, fine recipes, and found this one:

  • 2 sticks Butter
  • 1-1/2 cup + 2 TBLS Sugar
  • 3 whole Eggs
  • 1-1/2 cup Mashed Ripe Bananas
  • 4 cups + 2 TBLS Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1-1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 1-1/2 cup Sour Cream

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Grease and flour bundt pan or two medium loaf pans.

Cream butter and sugar together. Add eggs one at a time, beating for a few seconds after each addition. Add mashed bananas and beat. Combine dry ingredients in a separate bowl. Add dry ingredients and sour cream alternately to the mixing bowl. Beat well until all combined.

Pour into bundt pan and bake for 1 hour 10 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. In loaf pans, bake for about an hour. Invert on a cooling rack and allow to cool slightly before slicing and serving with softened butter.

Note: This is good. But it would be much better with the addition of about a teaspoon of cinnamon. I also added about a cup and a half of chopped walnuts to mine.

Meh. Fie on you, David Liebovitz!

The baba ghanoush was because there was perhaps the most gorgeous eggplant I’ve ever seen at the FM. So I bought it. Whacked it in half, coated the cut sides with oil, roasted it until it was soft. Whirled it up in the FoPro with tahini, garlic, lemon juice, olive oil, a sprinkle of cumin, a pinch of cayenne. That would be David Liebovitz’s recipe, BTW.

Well, actually, I forgot the garlic because I have somehow allowed myself to run Out Of Garlic (Horror! This cannot be!), so I was going to put garlic powder, but I forgot. So that’s why it was disappointingly not-very-good, and completely unworthy of David Liebovitz. It also had a bitter taste; guess the eggplant looked better than it cooked. I did add garlic powder later, and that helped, but it’s still weak.

Can't wait to crunch into these.

Then the pickles. They were also a factor of the FM, where one of the farmers had English cucumbers and another had white radishes. So I bought a half-dozen of one and a bunch (about a half-dozen) of the other, sliced them, and stirred up some rice vinegar, sesame oil, sugar, soy sauce and grated ginger and poured over. They’re soaking it up happily on the counter as we speak, and will go into the fridge later on.

Those radishes were doggoned near as big as a carrot. Can’t believe I didn’t take a photo of them and the lovely eggplant, before cooking. I haven’t tasted the pickles yet, as they need some time to soak first.

M'mm h'mm. Eatin' good in the 'hood tonight, we are!

And I picked up my what used to be Petit Jean Farms, and is now Mountain Meadows Beef (makes me think of the massacre in Utah, but obviously these folks farm and don’t read history) beef order, so we are having these succulent-looking bone-in ribeyes for dinner before we betake ourselves to the Three Dog Night concert tonight at the balloon rally.

Yes, Three Dog Night. Yes, I am old. Get over it.

And right now, the Razorbacks’ offense looks about as discombobulated as my cooking today. You and y’mama ‘n ’em get busy and help call the Hogs.

One Response to “Disparate Saturday stuff”

  1. Toy Lady Says:

    Kay, Three Dog Night = cool. Oldness be damned.

    Also, a morning at the farmer’s market always means the rest of the day in the kitchen for me too. 🙂


Leave a Reply

