Sometimes, you just fail

September 10, 2011

And that’s exactly what I did tonight.

In theory, it SHOULD have been a good dinner. Turkey meatballs, vegetable stirfry, homemade Szechuan sauce. Rice.

It sucked. We went and got pizza.

I think, truth be told, the veggies would’ve been good. I think it was the meatballs that did me in, and I think that was because of the Chinese five-spice powder, which tasted like it was about four-fifth anise.

You can’t win ’em all.

I did, however, redeem myself with a damn fine BLT this afternoon. So the day was not lost. And I went to the farmers’ market and got peaches and fresh corn and all sorts of other good stuff.

And we have a new family member — Star the cat, who has spent the majority of the afternoon and the evening hiding in the interior of the love seat.

And I’m tired and I’m going to bed.

Leave a Reply

