Sigh. It’s the August from hell.

August 12, 2011

It makes August worthwhile, it does.

OK, children. At least one or two of you missed me.

I’d say I missed you, but to be honest, I haven’t thought much about you. I’ve been busy being stressed, being busy, being gone, and not being able to sleep, which, combined with the freaking hot weather that just, thank-you-Jesus, seems to have broken for a bit, has made me cranky as hell, uninterested in food, and less interested in writing about it.

Dining companion's salad. I was ravenous and fell upon my burrito bowl without photographing it.

I don’t think I’ve turned my stove on this month. I did, however, have a more-than-decent meal at a year-old place I finally got around to trying because I had a half-off coupon for it. And I will be going back and paying full price, yes I will.

Nom Nom’s Mexican Grill and Chill moved in to the former Taco Bell on Central Avenue here in Hot Springs, at the site that once housed the Taco Shop, which I frequented quite regularly and of which I was quite fond. It was good. However, Nom Nom’s, once I get past the silly name, makes my eyes roll back in my head.

Meals are good. They have some menu items like tamales, quesadillas and tacos with your choice of meat, and so on. But their specialty is their “build your own” entrees — a burrito, a burrito bowl (they don’t fold it up), a torta (between toasted bread, it sez; haven’t seen one, so can’t testify), nachos or a salad (both self-explanatory).

You get a base of any of the above. And then the fun starts. You can go with chiciken, carne asada, chorizo, pork, ground beef or a vegetarian version. You can add eith black or refried beans, black olives,  onion, cilantro, pico de gallo, jalapenos, chipotle or regular sour cream, avocade sauce, any of four different kinds of salsa, including pineapple habanero that I wanted to try but was NOT courageous enough to do so. Guacamole or white cheese dip are extra.

I had a burrito bowl. I went with chicken (nice and spicy, shredded, plenty of sauce); black beans; black olives, chipotle sour cream and guacamole. The guac was super fresh, and very good, and well worth the 79 cents they tapped me for it.  Chipotle sour cream is a marvelous condiment, hot enough but not too much so. My dining companion had a salad with ground beef and I-forget-what else. We split a cheese dip (good white cheese dip, chips leave some to be desired), and had a couple of soft drinks (they also have agua fresca), and it was $22.76, and you CANNOT beat that price for a whole boatload more food than you can eat. And it’s fresh, and they use quality ingredients, and it’s just plain GOOD, that’s all.

Which brings us to the REALLY good part — the ice cream. Place will make you LAUGH at Baskin Robbins, Cold Stone Creamery, or any of those other chain ice cream joints, do you hear me? Forty-two flavors of made-in-house ice cream. In. House. Flavors like Dulce de leche. Pine nut. Strawberry jalapeno. Avocado cream. Chongos. Nutella and Heath. A small cup (you can fit a scoop each of two different flavors in a small cup) is $3.25. A waffle bowl sundae with three scoops and three toppings, plus whipped cream and a cherry, is just $5.25.

I had blackberry sorbet and dulce de leche. I was convinced I had died and gone to heaven. That was the best damn ice cream I have ever put in my mouth, bar none.

Oh. Bars. They also sell homemade ice cream bars. In variosu flavors, some cream based, some non-dairy, including nanche and guayaba, whatever those are. I will be finding out, because? I. Will. Be. Back.

You and y’mama ‘n ’em give NomNom’s a try when you’re over here. You’ll NOT regret it.

4 Responses to “Sigh. It’s the August from hell.”

  1. RMJ Says:

    Welcome back.

  2. Whitney Reynolds Says:

    I missed you!

  3. Pamela Coulter Says:

    Well Im glad you are alive.

  4. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Well, me too. Beats the alternative.


Leave a Reply

