Sometimes, you find inspiration in the oddest places

July 17, 2011

If you'd been here for breakfast, I would have fixed you this.

It was 10 a.m. I’d been up since a little before 7, had had coffee, but no sustenance. Wanted something, didn’t know what. Stood staring into the fridge.

Let’s see. Eggs. Assorted plastic baggies of things that don’t look appetizing. Assorted plastic containers of — Oh, God, throw that away, container and all! Bacon’s too much trouble, and besides, it’s frozen; ditto sausage. H’mm…what’s this? Leftover barbecue from the Fourth of July? Yeah, I think so.

So. I split open, buttered and toasted a yeast roll from the yeast roll peeps at the Farmers’ Market. I wrapped the barbecue up in foil and stuck it in the toaster oven to warm. (Barbecue, like most meats, does not reheat well in the microwave. Veggies do fine. I don’t know why meats don’t, but they don’t, unless they’re in a sauce or a soup. Go figger.)

I scrambled a couple of eggs. I was going to fry them over easy, but I broke a yolk on one. These farm eggs have the most delicate yolks I’ve ever seen. I may take to buying from a different guy.

I arranged my barbecue atop my toasted rolls, eased my eggs on top of that, and sprinkled the whole thing with some barbecue seasoning.

Yum.

This is a most excellent use of leftover barbecue, I can tell you. I’d been thinking about the barbecue omelet of which my friend, computer geek and culinary guinea pig, Len, speaks of with such fondness, at Cockadoo’s in downtown Memphis. This is, I presume, similar, but a sight easier, and well, yeast rolls.

Last night was a pretty respectable dinner, as well. T-bones from PJF, which I slightly overcooked (I am STILL not used to this gas grill), grilled yellow squash I’d tossed with some truffle oil and sprinkled with kosher salt, and a twice-baked sweet potato with honey chipotle butter and smoked gouda cheese.

Steak and potatos. And squash. Yes, I believe I will.

Honey. The steak was pretty good, the squash was pretty good, but those sweet potatos were Sweet Baby Jesus good. I mean, yeah. That good. I baked a big sweet potato (had a good notion NS wasn’t going to eat it, so no point in making a lot for leftovers when we’re leaving town tomorrow), scooped out the pulp, mashed it with a big heaping tablespoon of honey chipotle butter, stirred in maybe a third of a cup of grated smoked Gouda, put it in a small casserole dish and sprinkled a bit more cheese on the top.

Do this. The smoky and the hot and the butter and the honey….Oh, MY!

Tonight, I’m going to grill some more squash (zucchini) to go with the leftover yellow squash, which will then go into a squash gratin. I’m going to make a meat loaf, and cook some purple hulled peas, and I’m going to make homemade fig newtons. But prior to that, I’m going to betake myself over to the pool for a couple of hours of sun time. You and y’mama ‘n ’em have a marvelous summer Sunday afternoon.

2 Responses to “Sometimes, you find inspiration in the oddest places”

  1. kate Says:

    Now, you made me hungry! I’ve only “done” coffee. BUT, I have a new supply of Ralph’s tomatoes that were picked yesterda, AND, my bacon’s not frozen!
    Have fun catching rays, readin’ and maybe an adult beverage on the side.


  2. Barbecue, like most meats, does not reheat well in the microwave. Veggies do fine. I don’t know why meats don’t, but they don’t, unless they’re in a sauce or a soup. Go figger.

    Most likely, lack of moisture. Microwaves “cook” by making water molecules in the food move faster (“fast molecules” = “heat”, as you may remember from high school science 😉 ). If meats are dry, and there isn’t much water in there for the microwaves to work on, I can see where it wouldn’t reheat as well as meat in sauce or a soup.

    I’d been thinking about the barbecue omelet of which my friend, computer geek and culinary guinea pig, Len, speaks of with such fondness, at Cockadoo’s in downtown Memphis. This is, I presume, similar, but a sight easier…

    Sounds close. At Cockadoo’s they do an omelet (a skill which has always eluded me), fill it with pulled pork BBQ and provolone cheese, close it up (you know what I mean, fold it over or whatever into the little package that an omelet is) and then drizzle a Memphis style BBQ sauce over the top of the omelet. Really good. They serve it with what they call “cathead” biscuit. Dunno how much better that is (if it is at all better) than a yeast roll, but hey, the cathead biscuit works. 🙂


Leave a Reply

