Just kill me now

July 9, 2011

My, my my. You’d think I would’ve learned by now. One should NOT eat until one is stuffed like a sausage casing. No matter if it’s Sweet Baby Jesus good.

Good stuff, right here, I'm telling you!

Farmers’ Market plus drinking all day at the pool plus PJF beef  and bacon jam plus a really, really good Greek salad and roasted sweet potatos with honey chipotle butter? Just shoot me now. Stick a fork in me, I’m done.

Ginger mojito. Do this. You'll thank me.

I have learned how to make a ginger mojito. I may well not be the first person who ever made a ginger mojito, but I’m the first person who ever made ME one, so that counts. So that’s what I drank at the pool, and I have had two more since I’ve been home, and they are most excellent. You make them like a regular mojito — rum, mint, lime, club soda — but ‘sted of simple syrup, you use ginger syrup, which I procured at the Culinary District and have almost killed off a bottle today, but you could make your own and that’s what I’m going to do henceforth.

But that did not ruin my appetite for dinner, although my blood sugar is probably up around 10,000, given the rum and the ginger syrup.

NS wanted burgers, and I was OK with that, being that I had picked up a PJF beef order today at the farmers’ market. But rather than slap my burger between two halves of a bun, I opted to top it with some bacon jam for the last few minutes of cooking. Meanwhile, I’d chunked up some sweet potatos, tossed them in oil, and sprinkled them with barbecue rub before stashing them in in the oven at 375 for about 20 minutes. I moved them to a bowl, added a tablespoon of the aforementioned honey chipotle butter, let that melt, and tossed them in it.

Sweet Baby Jesus. On two counts. The bacon jam does astounding things for a burger-sans-bun, which I knew, because, y’know, I’ve done that before. But oh, those sweet potatos! I mean, we are talking killer, here.

The Greek salad was me purely winging it. Cherry tomatos, quartered; olives, pitted and chopped; a Vidalia onion, quartered, sliced thin and blanched to take away the raw, harsh taste. A cucumber, quartered lengthwise, seeded, chopped. A big lemon’s worth of juice, and a healthy glug of olive oil, and a couple tablespoons of chopped oregano, and several turns of the pepper mill. When I got ready to eat it, I crumbled feta on top.

Good stuff.

I have a peach pie from the fried pie ladies at the FM, but I’m too full to eat it.

Remainder of the market haul was okra, corn, purple hulled peas, tomatos, two tiny watermelons (bigger than a softball, smaller than a volleyball) that are perfect two-serving sized, squash. Will feed Child C some veggies tomorrow night.

Meanwhile, I am going to read and call it a night early. You and y’mama ‘n ’em say a prayer for me if you make it to church tomorrow, because,  y’know…I won’t.

One Response to “Just kill me now”

  1. kate Says:

    Where was I?
    Dang.


Leave a Reply

