Veggies, redux

July 1, 2011

More farmers’ market bounty for dinner tonight:

Potatos, tomatos, corn, butterbeans. Ham as an afterthought.

Note to self: You need to stop buying more produce at the market every Saturday than you can use. There are still eggplants in the fridge, and tomatos on the counter, and day after tomorrow is market day again.

Anyway. Tonight was butterbeans, corn on the cob, new potatos, tomatos, and leftover ham from Christmas that had been vac-packed and frozen  since them. And it was quite excellent.

These butterbeans. I’m not sure what I’d really call these butterbeans; to me, butterbeans are speckled when raw, with       a sort of reddish-purple “rash” over an off-white bean, and they cook up kinda brown, and I grew up on them. These, on the other hand, were an ivory color, raw, and not much more than ivory, cooked. They tasted like a butterbean, vs. a lima bean, which is of course its close cousin. Anyway, they were good. I just boiled them in a little bit of water, with a sprinkle of seasoned salt and a couple of tablespoons of (shhhh) bacon grease.

I’m a Southern cook. I learned to cook with a container of bacon grease sitting on the stove, and I still cook with a container of bacon grease sitting on the stove. It’s one of those things. I may not use it all that often, but when I want it, I want it. And when I’m cooking beans, of any fashion, or any kind of peas besides green peas, I want it. My arteries will just have to get over it.

The new potatos became haute new potatos with the addition of some black truffle oil — horribly expensive stuff, but you don’t use much of it (maybe 2 tbsp, maybe less, to toss the potatos in), with sea salt and freshly grated Parmigiano cheese. They went in a 400 degree oven for 20 minutes, until they were soft and just starting to brown. Dee-licious.

The corn was just easy corn on the cob; schmear it in a tablespoon of butter, add a tad of seasoned salt, wrap it in plastic wrap and nuke it. I nuked mine a bit long, as I’m still learning my way around this microwave and this is about the only thing I actually cook in it. Otherwise, it’s just heat and melt and defrost and that kind of stuff. And the ham was just ham. Good ham, I think it was a Bryan spiral sliced that I bought last year for Christmas, had a bunch left, and sliced it off, vacuum sealed it and froze it. My only complaint was that, thawed, it tasted a bit watery, but I think that could have been avoided by warming it in a skillet (I tend to like my ham cold). And, of course, tomatos.

I am near getting an embarrassment of tomatos; I’ve been gone a lot, not cooking, and the Mennonite tomatos are commencing to mount up. I think tonight will bring me some watermelon-tomato gazpacho, before I get another batch of them at the market tomorrow. And I need to learn to limit myself on produce buying; I still have eggplant in the fridge with which to do something, and tomorrow morning is market day again.

I may cook a burger for NS tonight, and content myself with soup and cheese and wine, it being Friday. Nothing special planned for the long Fourth weekend, other than time in/on the lake, and if I can find a nice-looking Boston butt, I’d put it on the grill and cook it nice and slow and have some barbecue. Guess I’ll make a Kroger run Saturday morning. Actually, given that it’s going to be 104 Saturday and not much less Sunday and Monday, I might cook that baby in the crockpot; he certainly won’t be in the oven. Or I might tough it out on the grill. (He’d actually do better on the charcoal grill, and I think I have charcoal left, so…) With some arepas, and some black bean and corn salad, some sliced tomatos and some potato salad, that ought to make a prime patriotic holiday dinner.

So you and y’mama ‘n ’em have  a lovely long weekend, don’t set anything on fire with the fireworks, grill good stuff, and say Happy Birthday to this fine country we have, despite the best efforts of idiot politicians to ruin it.

3 Responses to “Veggies, redux”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    Had you sent me home with a tomato or three, I’d have run to the store for some mozzarella and balsamic vinegar, and I’d have had caprese salad this week with the help of Mr. Rathbone. Now I just have to make it this weekend’s project. 😉

    Speaking of whom… he’s now not so much columnar basil as he is, “semi-serpentine” basil thanks to a heavy rain Monday. Apparently I put the pot right under where the rain pours off the awning… Not sure what I can do about that though; if I move him out of the drainage area he may not get enough sun. 😦

    If I can remember it, I’ll post a picture to FB later.

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Actually, I meant to. Forgot it. You should’ve asked.

  3. Len Cleavelin Says:

    I would have if I hadn’t forgotten, too. Aging’s a bitch, ain’t it? 😉


Leave a Reply

