Ready to road trip again

May 8, 2011

Huevos rancheros. Over easy for me, scrambled for NS.

Well. It’s been a busy Sunday. I have done laundry, clogged up and unclogged a sink drain, cooked enough to feed my starving young’uns while I’m gone for a week, and packed.

NS’s birthday is Tuesday, while I’m in Chicago, whence I am headed at oh-early-thirty tomorrow. Where I will go to the American Girl store and purchase my granddaughter her first American Girl doll, as well as to the Levis store to purchase her — well, you know. And where I will eat at Bistro 110, because I don’t care how out of style it is, I love it. And will have a drink at the Signature Lounge. And will eat breakfast at the Pancake House. And have a cocktail at the Violet Hour.

I love Chicago. More specifically, I love to just eat my way through it.

Then I’m off to Atlanta, where the dining is still decent, though not nearly what it ought to be in America’s what, fifth largest metroplex? A preponderance of chains. If I can recall where I ate in December, we’ll go back there; it was good.

And then I’ll be home Saturday, and home for a week, until I head back out to go see Child B and Stunningly Gorgeous And Intelligent Granddaughter. And THEN I’m home until the middle of June, so I can catch my breath.

Meanwhile, we have cooked. We have cooked huevos rancheros for breakfast, and brisket and sauteed sesame snow peas and roasted potatos for dinner, and a chocolate pound cake birthday cake in between. It has been a profitable, if tiring, day.

Yum. Good dinner. I'm still stuffed.

This brisket, I might note, is one of the better briskets I have ever cooked. I browned it, sliced and caramelized three onions and four cloves of garlic, added some tomato paste, some mustard, some brown sugar, a bottle of Guinness, four or five fresh sage leaves and two cups of beef broth. Put the brisket back in, clapped on the lid, and into a 325 oven he went for some 3 1/2 hours (he was about a 3-pound brisket). He could have been pulled earlier; he was so tender he was difficult to slice. I put the slices in a baking dish, pureed the gravy with my handy-dandy immersion blender, and poured that over it.

Yep. Sweet Baby Jesus brisket, that is.

The potatos (new potatos from the Farmers Market) were halved, tossed with some olive oil, seasoned salt and chopped fresh rosemary, and roasted at 350 for about 35 or 40 minutes. The snow peas were sauteed in sesame oil and olive oil, with grated ginger and sesame seeds. All in all, a quite delightful dinner. Now I just have to put everything away and clean the kitchen.

And get up at 4, so’s to hit the road for the airport by 5. So I will bid you and y’mama ‘n ’em good evening, and get busy, so I can get some sleep. Y’all play nice while I’m gone.

One Response to “Ready to road trip again”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    Oh gawd, that brisket looks good.

    Travel safely. I’ll be in touch sometime in the interim. I’ve been as busy as the proverbial one-armed paperhanger (perhaps as busy as a paperhanger with no arms), and look to be so for at least another week, alas… 😦


Leave a Reply

