On strike

March 30, 2011

I slid into the driveway this evening at 6:30, earliest I’ve been home all week. Had to do laundry, as I’m on my last pair of clean underwear.

There is no cooking tonight.

I could have eaten pulled pork and something at Magic Springs, where I went and froze my butt off (what happened to spring? I had my a/c on last week!) to hear the concert series lineup for this summer. Lots of country acts, allegedly big names; I wouldn’t know. Couple of Christian rock bands. And Joan Jett and the Blackhearts! On my birthday! Can I get an amen, here? And do you and y’mama ‘n ’em want to come be my DD that night?

That would be June 25, for those of you who love rock n roll and want to come party with Joan and me.

Elsewhere in the wider world, I’ve had a few decent meals this week, albeit it’s been someone else’s cooking.  Steak and potatos Monday night at the Porterhouse here; I tend to forget, between trips, how well the Porterhouse does steak. They get good beef; they age it; they cook it the way you order it; and they do you a nice potato and salad at a reasonable price. I think the six-ounce filet special (and that’s about enough beef for me) was $29, with the salad and potato. Hard to beat. Perfect medium rare. I have no complaints.

Tuesday night, it was back to Fusion. Any of you who visit the Spa City, I highly recommend you try this place. It’s just a good, good restaurant; lots of attention to detail; lovely, lovely food; nice room; waiters who remember your name and what you drink. And they mix a kick-ass Manhattan, I might add.

I had the ahi tuna. Again. It’s just hard to beat a 2 x 2 x 4, roughly, slab of ahi, spiced and seared, over a bed of soba noodles and sugar snaps and snow peas, with a tangle of crispy rice noodles on top. I mean, that’s just good. And they’ll serve it most Tuesdays and Fridays, because those are seafood delivery days. If you’re there on Wednesday, Thursday or Saturday, go with the steak or the pasta.  The boursin filet and the Hawaiian ribeye are nothing at which to sneeze.

Although the diver scallops over the truffled corn polenta have been marvelous every time I’ve tried them, never mind the day of the week.

Lunch one day at Cafe 1217, always a winner; I had the sampler salad with wild rice, sugar snaps and fresh herbs, and Sonoma chicken salad over fresh greens. Wish I’d stuck to the wild rice salad and the marinated sugar snaps. The chicken salad was meh.

Anyway. Reception tomorrow night, then headed out Friday to see Baby Mac.  I’ll cook for the masses Saturday, unsure what at this point (whatever Child B wants, I presume), and probably won’t have a chance to blog about it until sometime later. I’ll be busy playing with my grandbaby. You and y’mama ‘n ’em hold down the fort while I’m gone.

One Response to “On strike”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    I could have my arm twisted to do Joan for our mutual birthday celebration. Call or email to discuss at your option. And no prob if you get a better offer. 🙂


Leave a Reply

