I came, I saw, I cooked

March 27, 2011

It’s been a cold, gray day; winter’s last gasp, I guess. So, as befits same, I spent it in the kitchen. Gave Miz Scarlett another workout — Guinness wheat bread for NS, hoagie rolls (8 of ’em, four baked, four more in the freezer), and a loaf of sweet potato flax seed bread that is just kickass good.

Good stuff, this. Make you some.

I was contemplating some buckwheat molasses bread, too, but I just ran out of time and energy. I may yet make the dough for some cheddar cheese biscuits — or some bacon and date scones, the recipe for which I ran across this weekend and by which I was intrigued — to take to work for staff meeting tomorrow. Or I may not.

Now look at that. Don't you feel comforted?

It being gray and chilly, I decided we’d have comfort food tonight, so it was meat loaf, purple hulled peas, and mac and cheese. Child C was even home, having come in late last night and slept most of today, so it was breakfast for her. Everyone professed to being comforted; I know I was.

Here’s a link to the potato flax seed bread on Food 52. It calls for regular mashed potatos; I decided to see how it would work using sweet potatos. It’s marvelous! Moist and chewy (more on that shortly), which a really good, mild sweetness and a flavor that doesn’t lend itself to easy identification; you wouldn’t take a bite and say, “Oh! Sweet potatos! ” The flax seeds add a lovely, nutty flavor, and they’re healthy; I feel plumb virtuous. The recipe author says you can double the amount, and I think I will next time. (My name is excess; if 1/3 cup is good, 2/3 cup must surely be better. And twice as virtuous. Ya think?)

Two changes to the recipe. Apparently, sweet potatos are more moist than their white counterparts (or as my grandmama used to say, “Arsh” potatos; I finally figured out she was saying Irish potatos). It took me at least another full cup of flour to get to the point the dough would come together in a dough, vs. a batter, and it was still pretty doggoned soft. I also upped the honey to about 1/4 cup, reasoning I’d started down the sweet road and I might as well continue that way. Since I’d used more flour, and since the dough was so soft, a free-form boule was out of the question; I used my 11 x 5 bread pan, and it rose up well past the top. If you don’t have a big bread pan, you might want to break it down into two 8 x 4 1/2 pans.

I think it’s going to be a wonderful breakfast bread, toasted with some butter. I will find out in the morning.

I made the whole hoagie roll recipe from last week, today (I had halved it last week). For some reason, the dough was stiffer, or I lost count of cups of flour. The rolls are not as nice and smooth as last weekend’s, but they’ll serve. I froze four rolls on a baking sheet, and then transferred them to a gallon plastic ziploc; they’ll come in handy to take out and bake when I don’t feel like making bread. And come the warmer weather, there won’t be any of these all-day breadbaking sessions, I suspect. We’ll bake what we can bake before noon, and quit.

Business dinners the next two nights, and then a going-away dinner for one of our employees who’s leaving, on Wednesday. After-work reception on Thursday, and we’re leaving Friday to go see Child B, Son-In-Law 1, and No. 1 Grandchild. So I guess this is about it as far as cooking goes for the week. We’ll see what Child B puts me to cooking when we’re up there.

You and y’mama ‘n ’em take care and keep the stove warm while I’m gone.

3 Responses to “I came, I saw, I cooked”

  1. kate Says:

    You make me hungry!

  2. RMJ Says:

    Looks so good.

  3. RMJ Says:

    I got the prettiest set of paring knives in the mail today. Love the colors. Thanks for the wonderful surprise Kay and thanks Lucy Lu for pulling my name out of the hat!

    Look forward to reading all the Kay at the Keyboard posts. Thank you for sharing. Those of us (me) who do not have any culinary talent enjoy it much.


Leave a Reply

