Perfection on a plate

March 18, 2011

Now THAT is a surf-n-turf.

I didn’t cook this. Would to God that I had, but my skills do not evolve to such a level. At least not yet, maybe not ever.

This, however, is typical of the cuisine I can enjoy right here in downtown Hot Springs, at Central Park Fusion, the best restaurant in Arkansas that not a lot of people know about.

Chef Matt Fuller turns out some gorgeous dishes in this place, many of them with an Asian twist to them. I entertain there a good deal, and I’ve eaten most everything on the menu, and I’ve never had a meal that didn’t make me sigh in satisfaction.

Wednesday night’s repast was a surf-and-turf for two; a boursin-topped filet, medium rare, along with a lovely stack of ahi tuna with wasabi mayo. Preceded by tuna tacos, and duck confit egg rolls.

The egg rolls were just Pretty Damn Good.

If I could eat only one seafood for the rest of my life, I’d be hard put to choose between shrimp and ahi tuna. I do love me some tuna. This was perfect; wonderful silky texture; great, mild taste. The wasabi mayo was a match made in heaven; why have I never thought of doing that?

Last night was German food at Brauhaus, a long-time Hot Springs restaurant to which, somehow, inexplicably, I have never been. It was good. Not absolutely awesome, but good. And the entertainment was way cool — a duo on tuba and accordion who were doing polka music — up to and including Van Halen’s “Jump.” In polka tempo. I kid you not.

This while the John Corbett Band was playing just outside the restaurant for several thousand revelers who had spent the past couple of hours watching the First Ever Eighth Annual World’s Shortest St. Patrick’s Day Parade. Said parade having included the Texas Tortilla Queens, throwing green tortillas to the crowd; flying sheep; a troupe of Elvii; the Drunken Monks; and a 6-foot-7 leprechaun.

Only in the Spa City, yet another reason I love this place.

Back in the kitchen this weekend. It’s Greek meatballs tonight, with burgers for NS. Tomorrow is as yet undetermined, but will likely involve animal flesh and charcoal. Breadbaking to be done at some point. Making some more bacon jam for a friend who’s visiting. It’s gonna be a lovely weekend on the lake; you and y’mama ‘n ’em drop on by!

Leave a Reply

