Yes, I’m here.

March 9, 2011

And no, I haven’t posted. It’s been a frantic week, plus trying to get over a week out of the office. Tomorrow, there are indications I may get to slow down. Slowing down may equate to a half-day off.

I have not cooked since I’ve been home. I did at least make it to the grocery tonight, which indicates I may cook this week. Picked up some chuck steak, which makes me think vaca frita may be on the menu later this week. Picked up a corned beef brisket, which I am going to attempt to boil and see if it works out better than my own attempt at corning beef last summer.  It’ll certainly be simpler. And I’ve had a taste for corned beef hash, with a nice over easy egg on top.

That, and I’m going to make bahn mi sandwiches this weekend. I swear. And Miz Scarlett is going to be put through her paces, as I plan to make hamburger buns, hoagie rolls, and whole wheat sandwich bread. And maybe even rye bread for the corned beef.

Otherwise: dinner Monday night at Belle Arti, good Italian food (if not exceptional). Way too much to drink. Whereby hangs another story I’ll not tell in this venue. Lunch Tuesday: Lulav in Little Rock, a good place which bills itself as California Mediterranean, which, if somewhat geographically challenged, is still pretty damned good. I had a Monte Cristo — proscuitto, smoked turkey, Gruyere, dill pickles. My only quarrel with it was that rather than batter dipped, it appeared they dipped the bread in a standard egg-and-milk concoction, which made it right reminiscent of French toast. Not bad….but not a Monte Cristo, which wants a nice battered shell around the ENTIRE sandwich half,not just one side of the bread. The Half Shell in Memphis does an exemplary Monte Cristo, as does Colby’s, an off-the-beaten-path sandwich joint in the thriving metropolis of Wynne, AR. Who’d’a thunk it?

Weekend cookery plans (and rest of the week, for that matter): I’m thinking I may put the corned beef brisket on in the crock pot to simmer all day tomorrow. That should tender it up nicely. I want to try mujaddarah (and I think I butchered the spelling on that), which is, essentially, lentils, onions and tomatos, topped with a spiced yogurt. Maybe a tortilla, as I have some charcuterie I need to use up. I’m thinking I may pick up some short ribs for Saturday or Sunday.  All those, plus the vaca frita and bahn mi, ought to take care of the weekend.

I’ll keep you and y’mama ‘n ’em updated. Y’all hang with me, here.

3 Responses to “Yes, I’m here.”

  1. Toy Lady Says:

    This corned beef has always been good, though it’s not in the crockpot:

    http://www.food.com/recipe/corned-beef-and-cabbage-in-guinness-86868

    Though there’s probably no reason it couldn’t be.

  2. Pamela Coulter Says:

    Kay do you love you some short ribs or what. trish and I see we think you do lol.
    Pictures of new grand child are so cute. Nothing like being a grandmaw uh
    Hope to see ya soon in our neck of the woods
    Bye from Trish and I

  3. Len Cleavelin Says:

    I want to try mujaddarah (and I think I butchered the spelling on that)…

    Wikipedia says “mujaddara”, with alternate spellings of “moujadara”, “mejadra”, “mudardara”, or “megadarra”.

    Though I think the trailing “h” works just fine with that. I won’t tell The Authorities if you don’t. 🙂


Leave a Reply

