Waiting for baby…and cooking

February 27, 2011

The baby’s coming! Have gotten “the call.” contractions have been going on for about 8 hours, very irregular, not very hard yet, and I’m about to head out. Good thing I started early this morning in the kitchen; I’m waiting on one thing to finish, and then I’m on the road to Nashvegas. Next you hear, I’ll be a grandmother!

I’m having a cooking/organizing fit, here. Somehow, I’m just thinking I’ll get the call and head out today, so I’m making sure Child C and NS have plenty to eat while I’m gone.

I'm inordinately proud of my organizing abiity.

And I’ve made use of the shelves on Miz Scarlett’s cart, the ones which were collecting dust and serving as a tunnel for Lucy to scamper through. The addition of a collection of plastic canisters holding flour, et. al., makes them a fine storage area, and I’ve even labeled everything so I can grab it in a hurry.

I got an early start on the day, surprisingly, as I didn’t sleep worth a damn last night. I made a big pot of vegetable beef soup from the remains of last Sunday’s pot roast; I made a loaf of Guinness whole wheat bread for NS, and even cooked him a plateful of pancakes for the morning. And I made about four dozen meatballs which will go in baggies, with sauce, and into the freezer to become meatball sandwiches.

 And I made ricotta cheese again, this one with a different method, using vinegar ‘sted of buttermilk to separate the curds and the whey. I can tell a significant difference, too; there’s more curds, and the remaining whey does not look nearly as much like milk as did the buttermilk kind.

Much less messy the second time around, too.

It’s clearer, and kind of greenish/yellowish. I’ll use in in the bread I’m going to make later on. It separated much more cleanly, too, and seemed to make a greater amount of cheese, even accounting for what I dumped down the drain inadvertently last week.

Drain, baby, drain!

On the flip side, I don’t think I like the taste quite as well. But, as you usually season ricotta with something, in whatever preparation you’re using it, that ought not present much of a problem. It could be because I used cider vinegar instead of the called-for white, which I did not seem to have (can’t imagine what I used it for)

Bread plans for the day include whole wheat sandwich bread for NS’s sandwiches for the week, and hoagie rolls to go in the freezer for the meatball sandwiches. I also have short ribs laid out to braise. Not sure what recipe I’ll use for those; maybe the Guinness one I used before.

Here’s where I left off to go do something in the kitchen before I got the call, and then I kicked things into high gear. So I’m outta here, Nashvegas bound; will update you and y’mama ‘n ’em on baby news tonight or tomorrow. Say a prayer, think positive thoughts, and see if you can distract all the state troopers along I-40!

Leave a Reply

