One redeeming act

February 26, 2011

This — well, this and grocery shopping — was the only thing that stood between me and total worthlessness today.

Can I hear an amen for Ark-Mex cookery, here?

As I may have alluded, it’s been the Week From Hell. And I wound it up by going out drinking and dancing and listening to music last night, so I was Not Worth A Damn today. So consider yourselves lucky that I (a) cooked, and (b) am telling you about it. Because, y’know, if you read this thing regularly, you obviously have some sort of deficiency in your life, and it would be one that I have not done a good job filling this past week. So I’m tryin’, do you hear me? I’m TRYIN’!

Anyway. Chicken enchiladas. I’d roasted the chicken a few nights back, in a fit of ambitiousness that did not last long enough for me to do anything with it. So tonight, I was dedicated to the goal of getting it out of the fridge and into some sort of toothsome preparation. Chicken enchiladas are good, healthy, easy and quick; the superfecta of the cooking world.

You will need:

And that's all you need. Simple enough, innit?

  • About 3 cups shredded chicken. You can get ambitious and boil or roast it yourownself, or you can pick up a rotissiere bird at the grocery.
  • 1 can green chile peppers
  • 1 8-oz thingy of queso fresco (in the cheese case at most supermarkets)
  • 1 28-oz can of enchilada sauce (it’s imported from Mexico. They know a helluva lot more about making enchildada sauce than I do)
  • Corn tortillas
  • Powdered Pico de Gallo seasoning

Check out your tortillas by rolling them into a manicotti shape. If they are fairly pliable, go ‘head on with the recipe. If they want to split and break, then saute each one in oil for about 10 seconds on a side, just enough to soften it.

Put some chicken on the tortilla. Put about a teaspoon of green chiles on top of the chicken. Crumble about two tablespoons of queso fresco on top of that. Sprinkle it with the powdered pico. Roll that baby up, and put him seam-side down in a baking dish, the bottom of which you have already coated with about a half-cup of enchilada sauce.

Repeat. About 12 times, because that’s about how many enchiladas it’ll make. Roughly. Plus or minus a couple. Crumble the remaining queso fresco on top.

Bake at 350 until it’s all bubbly and such, and the queso is melty and starting to brown.

Stuff freezes well, too.

So that’s tonight. Tomorrow, Miz Scarlett and I have Another Day planned. Well, I do, and I suspect she’ll go along with it. I’m going to make NS’s Guinness whole wheat bread he loves so much, along with some whole wheat sandwich bread from the King Arthur Flour cookbook, some pizza crust to throw in the fridge, and some hoagie rolls (also the KAF cookbook). And I’m gonna make a boatload of meatballs, which I will put in plastic baggies with a healthy portion of Ragu (shudder) and freeze for meatball sandwiches while I’m off birthing grandbabies (well, A Grandbaby) next week. And braised short ribs, because they were in the freezer. And chocolate cobbler, because I promised NS I would. And I’m thinking I may make a pound cake, just Because I Can. We’ll see if there’s time out there. Oh, and coconut macaroons. Because I want coconut macaroons.

Baby update — she’s not here yet. The OB will induce on Thursday evening for a Friday birth if the stubborn little hussie doesn’t get in the notion to get here before then. Be assured I will have LOTS o’pictures to share with you and y’mama ‘n ’em.

Leave a Reply

