It’s starting to look a lot like Kansas…

February 10, 2011

I like snow. Snow is pretty. But now it needs to go away.

OK, y'all. Three weeks in a row? Seriously? Stick a fork in me, I'm done.

This was my world yesterday about 1:30 p.m., and remains my world today, although it’s starting to melt a bit and I may venture outward today just  because I think I can.

Or I may not. We shall see.

In any event, I didn’t do a lot of cooking yesterday, in large part due to significant overconsumption of wine night before last. I had a couple of glasses at our CEO reception, but it was the bottle and a half I split with my down-the-hill neighbor that did me in.

I did, though, bestir myself, finally, to make burgers for NS and recyle the leftover shrimps from the reception into some shrimp and grits.

A fine use for leftover shrimps, this is.

These were some most excellent shrimp and grits, which is one of those things I generally cook without a recipe, so sometimes it’s good and sometimes, well, I forget what I put in them last time when they were good. So in an attempt to keep up with what I did with these, which were real close to Sweet Baby Jesus shrimp, here’s what I recall:
I sauteed half an onion and a couple of ginormous cloves of garlic in some olive oil. I added a couple of tablespoonsful of tomato paste, and let that simmer along, and added some sweet paprika, a splash of Marsala (maybe a quarter-cup) and a tablespoonful of PickAPeppa sauce. I tasted, and it wanted a little more heat, so I added a pinch of Aleppo pepper.
Then I cut the heat back to medium low and added about a cup of heavy cream. WTF, it’s snowy and 19 degrees outside. We need calories, do you hear me, calories! I never let it boil, but when it got hot, I plopped the shrimps from the reception the night before into the sauce and let them get hot.
Had they been my conventional raw shrimp, I’d have put them in before I added the cream, and let them saute in the sauce base. As it was, I didn’t want them to overcook, and they did not.
I put gouda in the grits, spooned the grits over, pour a glass of Riesling, and it was dinner. And pretty damn good, I might add.

Cinnamon rolls are the ultimate snow day sustenance. I'm just sayin'.

Today, as I am feeling much more up to cooking, I pulled the frozen cinnamon rolls out of the oven, baked them, and doused them in a glaze, ‘sted of cream cheese icing, because I wasn’t ambitious enough to do cream cheese icing. And I put a pot of Tuscan White Bean Soup on to simmer in the crockpot all day. I’m figuring I’ll make bread of some sort later on, and I’m contemplating trying a pissaladiere to go with the soup, mostly because the name makes me giggle. (I should make you google it, but it’s a pizza topped with caramelized onions and anchovies. I’m not topping mine with anchovies, but I do have some anchovy paste I’ll put in the onions.). The other option is maybe a sweet potato galette with caramelized onions. We’ll see.

Meanwhile, you and y’mama ‘n ’em don’t break anything, if you go out and play in the snow.
One Response to “It’s starting to look a lot like Kansas…”

  1. littleclove Says:

    Kay, I love the way you cook! I’ve never made shrimp and grits in my life. Never even tried it. But to watch you go through your steps, I can tell how good this would taste! I think I’m going to wing it this weekend and see what I can come up with. I’m snowed in here in Chicago, too and need a comfort-food warm up!
    Thanks!

    It’s a Southern thing (thang!), I guess. I love shrimp and grits, and there are as many ways to prepare them as there are cooks who do it. If you’re using raw shrimp, just shell (and devein them, if you’re picky about that; I’m not), and let them cook in the sauce base before you add the cream. It won’t take but a couple of minutes. For the grits, just cook them like the label on the box (or, heck, make polenta; same thing, just ground a little finer), and spoon the grits and sauce over. You can add cheese or not, according to your personal taste; I think it’s an abomination NOT to! I’ll be anxious to hear a report…


Leave a Reply

