Winter would be pretty, if it weren’t so damn cold

February 5, 2011

This was the view outside my window this morning:

I need to scatter some stale breadcrumbs for the birdies, I suppose.

And this was the view inside my window this morning:

Lucy Lu wearing her hopeful look. "You gonna drop something? Huh?"

And lastly, eating this:

Steel cut oatmeal. It's worth hunting down and cooking this. Marvelous.

Perfect cinnamon roll, except the icing’s a tad too sweet.

Seriously, y’all. This oatmeal. This was my first time to try steel-cut oats, which I had bought in the health-food section of Kroger because I thought that was what I needed for a recipe. It wasn’t. So they had reposed in my pantry.

And somewhere, in the last few days, I read you could cook oatmeal in the rice cooker, and I thought, well, THAT makes sense. So, getting up this morning, looking out at the snow, and thinking about what would be good on a colder’n hell morning, I thought, “Aha! We’ll try the steel-cut oats!”
Dear Sweet Baby Jesus. Imagine the difference between those insipid, watery packets of instant oatmeal doused in boiling water, and old-fashioned Quaker oats cooked in a pan on top of the stove, like your Mama used to do it. Got that?
Now imagine that difference multiplied about 50 times. That’s the jump to steel-cut oats.
They cook up with just a bit of toothsomeness left in the bits of oat grain, and they have a sort of nutty flavor to them that the processed oatmeal does not. I had mine the way I almost always have my oatmeal — with a pat of butter and an unconscionable amount of brown sugar. It was marvelous, and I will be repeating this on a regular basis.
To cook it in the rice cooker, use 1/2 cup steel cut oats and a cup and half of water, and I added about a half-teaspoon of kosher salt. Flipped the switch to “cook,” and went away for 15 minutes or so. When I went back to look, it had flipped over to “warm,” so I popped it open. A bit of water sitting atop the oats — I stirred that in, and it was perfect.
I may have another bowl for lunch.
Tonight is, in fact, bourbon braised beef, which I have marinating in its spice rub in the fridge as we speak, where it has been all night. I’ll put it on noonish. Undecided as to what I’ll fix with it; NS has a date(!) — his very FIRST date — and will be eating out with her. I’m thinking I may take advantage of that to make myself some potato salad and eat some of the lentils from last Sunday that didn’t get done in time to eat with the pernil.
Betwixt now and then, I’m going to do what one is supposed to do on a day like this: I’m going to curl up on the couch and read. You and y’mama ‘n ’em have a lovely winter day.
2 Responses to “Winter would be pretty, if it weren’t so damn cold”

  1. littleclove Says:

    OK, you sold me. I’ve been avoiding oatmeal for breakfast for a long time. I’m more of a savory girl so I usually go with eggs and toast. But, I know how steel cut oatmeal is supposed to be SO good for you. After hearing how much you loved it, I will have to give it a try!

    There’s nothing to say you can’t have your oatmeal savory. I suspect it’d be excellent with some bacon or sausage crumbled atop, and maybe even an over-easy egg. You could even try putting cheese in it, like cheese grits.

    H’mm. I may have to try that. Actually, I rather doubt my Scots ancestors sweetened their “parritch.”

  2. Toy Lady Says:

    Aw, look at that curly little tail and that sad little face!

    Oh, and I like my cinnamon rolls with cream cheese frosting. . .

    Don’t let the sad look fool you. She is a con artist of the first magnitude. She was trying to sucker me out of a bite of the cinnamon roll I had in my hand. Didn’t work.


Leave a Reply

