Done, and done

January 15, 2011

OK, I give up. Once you get past the ground variety in moussaka….I just don’t like lamb.

Today, I changed course in mid-stream and braised lamb shanks in a tomato ragu, rather than doing the short ribs I had planned, because, well, just because. And I chopped and I sauteed and I braised and I went to the racetrack and lost money and I came back and they smelled SO good.

But they just don’t taste good. Perhaps once I let them cool and skim off the fat, and heat them back up after that, and reduce the sauce a bit more, maybe it’ll be better. Otherwise, well, I’m going to be of the opinion that lambs are best allowed to grow up and become sheep and yield wool and milk for cheese.

Sigh. I tried. I’ve heard so many people wax rhapsodic about lamb, that I really thought I ought to like it. I just don’t. Baaaaaaaa, humbug.

So I’m drinking wine, and may have myself some cheese and olives and pickles after while, because I’m not really all that hungry, anyway.

You and y’mama ‘n ’em excuse me. I’m gonna go be a black sheep.

One Response to “Done, and done”

  1. Toy Lady Says:

    I’m not a huge fan of lamb myself, either, although the Husband is one of the poetic waxers on it.

    I have noticed, though, that domestic lamb and Australian/New Zealand lamb taste different. Given the option, I prefer the imported kind – less gamey tasting.


Leave a Reply

