Why izzat, anyway?

January 6, 2011

Perhaps it was because I was making chili while in the midst of a spirited debate with NS, who wants to go off his meds for bipolar disorder because he thinks they’re making him gain weight. Perhaps it was because I was making way more chili than I normally do, because I’m contributing to a chili-dog reception for a bunch of visiting school kids from Japan tomorrow.

Perhaps it’s because I have finally killed off too many brain cells and dementia is setting in.

I’d browned about three pounds of beef, drained it, sauteed two onions and eight cloves of garlic, added the beef back in, moved everything to a larger pot because I could see I was going to run out of room, added tomatos and tomato sauce and beans and chili powder and cumin and salt and smoked paprika….and I freaking went blank. What else does it want?

When in doubt, wait. I simmered, and I tasted. It wanted more cumin. I gave it more cumin. It wanted more smokiness; I gave it a chipotle. It still wants something, but I’m damned if I know what. There is a broken string on a bass note in there somewhere.

Do you ever do that? Go to make something you’ve made a bajillion times, get midway in, and have a brain fart and think, “OK, NOW what?”

Why does that happen?

You and y’mama ‘n ’em contemplate that for a while and let me know, wouldja? And if you decide what’s missing from my chili, let me know that, too. Not that the Japanese kids will know the difference.

2 Responses to “Why izzat, anyway?”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    Offhand, looking at your ingredient list, were I making it, it’d want some cayenne pepper. Lots of it, because I do my chili in the Crock Pot, and that seems to mitigate the spiciness of the cayenne.

    YMMV, of course. 🙂

  2. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    Well, I added a chipotle or two, which helped with the heat and also added a nice smokiness. Also added more cumin. It was significantly better after having been refrigerated and then warmed up. I was at least not ashamed of it.


Leave a Reply

