Cutting my losses

December 28, 2010

Experimenting in the kitchen is not all Sweet Baby Jesus successes, and blogging is not all about those successes. There comes a time when it’s appropriate to say, “well, that sucked,” and fall back on a tried-and-true standby like wine and cheese and pickles and olives (one reason each of those should be a pantry staple).

Tonight was one of those nights.

It’s lentil week over on Food52. I wasn’t overwhelmed with my submission last night, the pasta e lenticche, which, while it ain’t half bad, ain’t contest winning material. So I figured I’d try something else tonight.

Cross coconut curry lentils off your list of things you might be inclined to try. It just doesn’t work.

I’m not a huge curry fan, but I do like coconut curry. It’s mild, and it’s a good accompaniment to chicken and seafood. It doesn’t do a damn thing for lentils, and vice versa.

I made up my standard curry, except for the fact I used powdered ginger ‘sted of the usual minced, as my ginger was growing strange fuzzies in the fridge and I chunked it. Anyway it’s garlic, ginger, tomatos, turmeric, coriander, cumin, cinnamon and some red pepper. I sauteed the garlic with a couple of chicken breasts, dumped in the other spices while the chicken got done on the outside, added a can of tomatos and a half-can of water and let it poach down, while I boiled the lentils on the other side of the stove. Added the coconut milk and some more water, drained the half-cooked lentils and added them, and simmered until it was thick and the lentils done.

It wasn’t repulsive. But it damn sure wasn’t good.

The cheese and honey and pickles and olives, however, were excellent. So I’m in no danger of going hungry tonight.

Tomorrow night is white chili, P. Allan Smith’s recipe by way of Lynne Rossetto Kasper. You and y’mama ‘n ’em stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

