Post-Christmas recovery

December 27, 2010

Well, we seem to be recuperating from Christmas, except the dog is sick. Got home yesterday afternoon, napped on the couch, got up and went to bed. Eventful day, yes?

The blog will be photoless for about three weeks, unless I can come up with something worthwhile from the camera phone. I left mine in Memphis, and as I’ll be going back in three weeks, I’ll just grab it then.  Meanwhile, today is the last day off for Christmas vacation, then it’s a three-day week and then a long weekend for New Year’s. Not much on tap today but taking the dog to the vet, and doing a little cooking.

Theme for this week over on Food 52 is lentils, so I need to see what I can do with a lentil. I have red ones, brown ones, green ones. I love lentils and pasta in a nice tomato sauce, so that may be one attempt. Then maybe curried lentils. I have lots of leftover ham, so some sort of lentils and ham preparation. We shall see.

Christmas dinner was nice. We fed 12 with ham, a turkey breast, corn casserole, sweet potatos, cranberry salad, kugel and asparagus with hollandaise. In my tradition of making one thing I’ve never made before, I tried kugel. It wasn’t bad; several folks liked it a lot. I thought it was OK, just nothing to write home about.

I’m thinking today may be pot roast. I have a beef roast in the freezer, so if I took it out now…. New Year’s Day I’m planning a pork loin, to go with cabbage and black-eyed peas. In between, well, I have lamb shanks and beef short ribs coming on Thursday from PJF, so we’ll see what happens there. Snacky stuff for weekend sports. Need to restock the wine cabinet. Oh, and I have to take the dog to the vet, and if I don’t clean house, the health department is going to come in and condemn me.

So you and y’mama ‘n ’em enjoy your day, and we’ll visit later on.

Leave a Reply

