Your itinerant blogger reports in…

December 18, 2010

…from Philly, where I have taken NS for a holiday visit with friends and family. No food of note to report, although dinner at the Austrian Village was nice — red cabbage from heaven, the wonderful German potato salad, but they were out of homemade bratwurst, so I ordered the “smoked butt,” figuring to get some sort of German version of barbecue.

Wrong. If I don’t miss my guess completely, it was smoked Canadian bacon, cut about 1/2 inch thick. Which leads me to wonder if Germans don’t know their butts from their bacon? I dunno. It was good. It wasn’t homemade bratwurst.

Got here Friday, ate Italian at some local chain that night, near fainting from exhaustion from having gotten up at 5 a.m. to make the airport and a 7:30 flight. Penne puttanesca wasn’t bad. Today it was over to Burlington, NJ, to visit a friend after I dropped NS off in his old ‘hood to visit. Cheeseburger in a pizza joint was, well, cheeseburger in a pizza joint.  Tomorrow we’ll eat Italian again, somewhere.

Bittersweet visit, this one. NS’s father has been gone 10 months now. I guess because it’s cold again, as it was when I came up here for his funeral, I feel his loss more than I did when I was here in May. But I think it’s good for the kid, at least I hope it is, to be here. He’s enjoyed seeing his friends. And I’m happy to be able to give him the chance to do that.

I’ll be glad when this Christmas, and this year, is in the books. It’s been an eventful one, if not always a kind one.

You and y’mama ‘n ’em enjoy the season.

Leave a Reply

