About those eggs….

December 12, 2010

Before the second cooking in the oven; see, the sausage isn't done.

Child C loved ’em. I thought they were…OK.

The sausage was fine. The eggs were fine. The mustard was fine. The whole impact was, well kinda meh, although Child C would disagree.

Here’s the deal. You makes you some chicken apple sausage, thusly:

  • 1 pound ground chicken (or turkey. It’s a boid, after all.)
  • 1 medium onion
  • 1 apple
  • 1 tbsp dried sage (or 2 tbsp fresh, chopped, which made me regret I’d used all mine in the turkey over T’giving…)
  • 1/2 tsp fennel seed
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  •  salt and pepper, to taste

Peel and dice the onion finely. Saute in 2 tbsp or so of butter until it’s translucent. Meanwhile, peel, core and dice the apple.  Throw into the pan. When it’s softened a bit, move off heat and allow to cool.

Combine ground bird, onion/apple mixture, and other  ingredients, and mix together with your hands. Refrigerate, covered, until you’re ready to use it.

Boil some eggs. I did two, because this was an experiment. That much sausage would probably cover six. Eggs need to be boiled hard enough to stay intact when peeled, but not all the way to the hard-boiled stage, as they’ll cook some more when they’re deep fried. Peel them. I wanted small eggs, couldn’t find them at the grocery, got medium.

Take about enough sausage to make a patty and a half, and pat it out thin on a piece of waxed paper. Shape it around the egg, so the egg is entirely encased. This will get a lot bigger than you expect it to. Roll the resultant almost baseball sized (well, if baseballs were oval) mass in flour, then in beaten egg, then in bread or cracker crumbs. Deep fry in 3 1/2 inches or so of vegetable oil over medium high heat. Drain them on a rack over paper towels.

When they’re cooled a little bit, cut in quarters. One recipe called for slices, but I’m not sure how you slice them without them falling apart. Different recipes also called for different dipping sauces, most of them mustard based; I opted for spicy brown mustard with some honey and some horseradish, and it went well. The typical preparation is with traditional pork sausage, and I may have to try that. I’d also love to try it with quail eggs, which would, halved, make some kick-ass appetizers, I think.

One place I went astray was using  too much sausage; my “case” was way too thick, and consequently, as you can see in the photos, didn’t get done enough. I wrapped those wedges in foil and stuck them in the oven for another 15 minutes. I think regular sausage, having a higher percent of fat, would shape better and you’d be able to get a thinner coating; I’m thinking a quarter-inch or so all around the egg would be optimum. I have chicken-apple sausage left, and I’m thinking it may make an appearance this evening alongside some eggs en cocotte over cheese grits.

These are a standard pub snack in England and Scotland, apparently, and are often served cold. Can’t say that cold really strikes me as great, but they don’t have to be piping hot, either.

My other attempt at creative cuisine yesterday fell flat. I had some lovely Bosc pears, and it happened that one of the finalists in this week’s Food 52 contest was baked pear crisps — you slice pears super thin on a mandoline, sprinkle them with a mix of cocoa, sugar, cinnamon and ginger, and bake them at 275 until they’re crispy-chewy.

I baked mine on parchment paper, rather than on a rack set over a cookie sheet, as directed, because I have only one cooling rack. I don’t know if my oven is poorly calibrated or what, but those babies burned before they got crisp. I was disappointed, because I thought they ought to be pretty wonderful. I may try again, with a lower oven temp, today, because I still have a couple of pears. And it’s fun to use the mandoline!

It’s cold out there, so short of a trip to LR to visit NS, I’m going to stay inside and read and cook today. If you and y’mama ‘n ’em got any brass monkeys outside, bring ’em in the house.

2 Responses to “About those eggs….”


  1. […] [Full Source] This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. ← Vegetable Salad Recipes * Easy Healthy Recipes * Chopped Carrot … Moore: More Broncos To Get Heisman Attention Idahostatesman.Com … → […]

  2. Len Cleavelin Says:

    Snow in Memphis this morning. Granted, a few flakes. Not enough to count, really, but I did see snow…


Leave a Reply

