From the desert

October 12, 2010

I’m here in sunny Tucson. Spent this afternoon drinking beer by the pool, with a view of the Catalina mountains in the background. My job is so onerous.

Food has been good. As previously mentioned, had a great steak Saturday night, accompanied by fine margaritas and some most excellent wine. My hosts made me Sonoran style enchiladas Sunday; they were quite wonderful as well. Fish tacos last night, and no quarrel with those; another good wine, whose name I can’t remember, except it was a cabernet franc.

I contemplated heading out with a bunch of the crowd to the In n Out Burger today, but opted to stay, eat the boxed lunch (some really great white bean salad that was NOT appetizing looking, but tasted wonderful), a ham and Gouda sandwich, and a great cherry-almond bar), and head for the pool. An activity which, I might add, I will repeat tomorrow.

Yeah. Tough job. Don’t you hate it for me?

I have photos, but no cable to download them. There are just too stinkin’ many cables to get them all in the briefcase. It’s bad enough having to travel with four, count them, four, chargers (Kindle, laptop, phone, bluetooth headset). And I did manage to bring my iPod synch cable. But I forgot the camera one. You can wait. It’s good for you.

You and y’mama ‘n ’em hold down the fort while I’m gone.

One Response to “From the desert”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    Dammit, how am I supposed to know if In ‘n Out Burger truly lives up to the hype if you aren’t sampling it and telling me? You’ve disappointed me, Kay. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Though honestly, if I were staying in Arizona for a while I’d make sure I stopped at the Heart Attack Grill just so I can say I ate there. Even if I would have to bring my own Coke Zero (a 0 calorie Coke and a Quadruple Bypass Burger… I can just imagine the looks I’d get ๐Ÿ™‚ ).

    http://www.heartattackgrill.com/


Leave a Reply

