Had better. Had a lot worse.

September 14, 2010

Chicken. Marinating its little heart out. In lemon and sage.

Chicken and rice. With lemon. And sage.

This wasn’t bad. Didn’t send me off into transports of ecstasy, but it wasn’t bad.

I don’t know that it was good enough to make again…but it wasn’t bad.

This would be the aforementioned lemon sage chicken. Did I say it’s not bad? It’s really not bad.

But dammit, I’m ready to cook something that rocks my world. And this did not.

It’s a pretty simple recipe. Marinate chicken breasts in lemon juice and olive oil and sage leaves for 30 minutes. Fry ’em up in butter and olive oil, sage and all, with some salt and pepper. Use the reserved marinade to make a pan sauce when you get through.

I added the brown rice because it seemed to be the thing to do.

It wasn’t bad.

The recipe, should you be in the mood for not-bad-chicken-in-lemon-and-sage, is:

  • 4 chicken breasts (the recipe called for boneless skinless, and I had bone-in, skin-on, so I split the diff and skinned ’em)
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp lemon juice
  • 28 fresh sage leaves
  • another 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • salt and pepper

Marinate the chicken in lemon juice and 3 tbsp olive oil, with sage leaves tucked here and there and sprinkled on top, for 30 minutes. Melt butter olive oil, and when it gets foamy, add chicken, smooth side down. Cook for 5 minutes, until nicely browned. Flip, salt and pepper; add the sage leaves from the marinade; cook for another 5 minutes or so, until done.

Because I had bone-in breasts, I added to that by covering the pan and lowering the heat and cooking an addtional 5-10 minutes to make sure those D-cup chickens were done all the way through. I love me some rare steak, but I want my chicken DONE.

Take the breasts out, pour in the leftover marinade to deglaze the pan, and reduce it down to a nice sauce.

It wasn’t bad.

I’ll tell you what was bad. Bad was wearing a pair of shoes to work today that I don’t wear but about once every six months, because when I wear them, I remember why I don’t wear them but once every six months. They are uncomfortable as all hell. And that’s a shame, because they are some good looking black wedge peep-toe pumps, and I needed to look businesslike today. Which I did until I gave up in disgust and kicked those babies off about 2 p.m., and went the rest of the day barefoot. In my suit. And those shoes are still sitting at my office, where I am either going to give them away or throw them out tomorrow, because my feet STILL hurt from them right now and I’ve had them off for seven hours.

You and y’mama ‘n ’em need a pair of black size 8 wedge peep-toe pumps? Come get ’em.

Meanwhile, I believe I will have another glass of wine (Francis Ford Coppola Rosso), which is damn good, thank you very much.  And ponder what I’m going to attempt to cook that will ring my bell more than this chicken did.

One Response to “Had better. Had a lot worse.”

  1. Whitney Says:

    Same deal on a pair of black pumps my husband bought me (bout 5 inches high, REALLY CUTE THO!). He asked me this morning, why don’t you ever wear the shoes I bought you? I said “Oh, I planned on wearing them today” (as I snuck my flipflops into my purse, when he went to get his shoes). Those bad boys came off as soon as the truck was out of the parking lot! 🙂


Leave a Reply

