A friend will…

August 31, 2010

Actually, my favorite completion of that one is “A friend will bail you out of jail; a real friend will be sitting there in the cell with you saying, ‘Damn, that was fun.’ ”

In my case Sunday night, it was “A friend will cook you dinner. A real friend will cook you dinner when you show up at her house at 9:15 at night.”

I took a flying trip to East Arkansas Sunday for a  funeral Monday morning; decided to spend the night with my friend Kate, who visits over here from time to time.  I enjoy cooking for Kate, mostly because she’s one of those who’ll try anything one time (and generally find something good to say about it). So, as I was visiting there, Kate decided to cook for me.

She did shrimp and grits. A very simple recipe, and a very good one; one that the whole was more than the sum of the parts. Nice creamy grits, made with milk; shrimp sauteed with onion and garlic, some flour sprinkled over once the shrimp got done, and then a cup of chicken broth.

Hard to beat. I’ll do that again. Thanks, Kate, for the dinner and the wine and the hospitality.

Tonight, I got in late, tired, after a hectic day, and decided to fix something simple. So I did a creamy gazpacho with chicken and cheese quesadillas. Thusly:

Pink gazpacho. It was kinda pretty.

I’d been wanting to try this creamy gazpacho since I’d seen it in a blog somewhere. It’s pretty simple — a couple of medium tomatos, half an onion (it called for green onion, but I didn’t have any), some garlic, some basil, a splash of wine vinegar, a bunch of yogurt, some kosher salt and black pepper, all whizzed up in the FoPro.

I believe I kinda oversplashed the wine vinegar. Not certain but what it might have lent itself better to doing without the wine vinegar, which seemed to me to have overpowered the basil, entirely.

All in all, I believe I’d rather have had the sherried tomato soup. Which is what I’ll make next time.

The chicken quesadillas, though, were fine. I had some bits and pieces of chicken breast meat that I’d trimmed off the rectangles I stuffed with ricotta and chipotle, so I sauteed that up with pico de gallo and adobo seasoning; grated some cheddar and mozzarella cheeses, and put it together with corn tortillas, because I was out of the flour ones. Grilled it with my panini press.

Hard to beat.

I’m thinking that I want to put some white beans on to soak, because for whatever reason, I’m in the notion for beans and cornbread. I guess because it’s getting a little cooler.

And now, I’m off to attempt to help NS with geometry. This is not a good thing. I never took geometry in high school — two years of algebra, but no geometry — and I’m pretty clueless once you get past the area of a circle. Phoning Child B, the math teacher, doesn’t help because she doesn’t have the diagram from the book to look at.  Child C, who like her mama is innumerate (I’m not certain that’s a word, but it should be), looked at it briefly and conceded defeat.

I think it’s math tutoring time.

So I’m probably gonna say hell with it, finish my glass o’ wine and read. You and y’mama ‘n ’em enjoy this nice cool evening.

One Response to “A friend will…”

  1. Pamela Coulter Says:

    Sorry I missed you the other day. I clean a house on Mondays. Trish said she was already gone. I never though of putting my quesadillas on the panini press. That is a great idea. Well maybe next visit we will get to chat. See ya


Leave a Reply

