Still here. Barely.

August 12, 2010

I did cook tonight. But by the I got in from the gym, put the rice in the rice cooker, made the sauce, put the meatballs in the sauce, sat down with a glass of wine, drank the glass of wine, checked the rice to see if it was done, discovered I’d failed to turn the cooker on, cursed and then did so, made NS a grilled cheese sandwich because he didn’t like the meatball he sampled, poured another glass of wine, and waited on the rice to get done, it was 8:48 p.m. And I didn’t want meatballs.

So I ate rice with butter and brown sugar. And finished the second glass of wine. Yes, I am a warped individual.

Besides, it’s been to effing hot to cook, although have done so once since last post. That was meatball sandwiches, which NS would rather eat than steak.

It has been a week full of Mondays, and busy ones, at that. Tomorrow promises to be little different. And I have to come home, wash clothes, cook stuff for the thundering herd to eat while I’m gone, and pack, to leave for New Orleans at oh-early-thirty on Saturday. So I won’t be cooking for the next few days, but I’ll damn sho’ be eating well! Got plans with friends attending the same conference to go to Mr. B’s on Saturday night, Galatoire’s (if we can get in) on Sunday. AndI want to go to Restaurant August on Monday, if I can still stuff in another calorie any-freaking-where.  Plus, must go to Cafe duMonde to have beignets at least once (damn, I wish they were good after they cooled off, and I’d most assuredly take some home), and maybe to Mother’s for a po’boy.

And there will go this past month at the gym, out the window.

Might as well go ahead and ‘fess up — there won’t be a whole lot of cooking for the next 3 weeks or so. I get back from the Big Easy on Tuesday, start a conference that’s at least here local on the following Sunday, finish that up on Wednesday, leave Saturday for another conference in N. GA, and come back from THAT one on the following Tuesday, then get ready for the Blues Festival and weekend houseguests (my red-headed stepchild and my red-headed step-grand-child, Susan and Ginnie) over Labor Day.

Jaysus H. Roosevelt Christ on a skateboard. Makes me tired to write it.

Significant cookery en route to that first post-Labor-Day deep breath, though, will come a week from this Sunday, when I entertain about a dozen girlfriends for brunch before the conference starts. I’ve been pondering the menu, and here’s what I have so far:

  • Sausage and asparagus quiche.
  • Mexican frittata
  • Caprese salads, perhaps with a side of basil pesto viniagrette featured on the Dark Side of the Fridge blog recently.
  • Fruit salad of some description
  • Sweet rosemary cornbread, which is more of a corn light bread because it has more flour than it does cornmeal, and is really a quick bread because it doesn’t use yeast, but which just looked so freakin’ good I can’t stand it, and I have a buttload of fresh rosemary out back. That was, I think, on the Tasty Kitchen blog, and it just looked, and sounded, so good I just have to try it.
  • Shrimp kebabs in chili lime sauce. (From Michelle’s Thursday Night Smackdown blog, and can I just tell you how much I admire a woman who managed to pull together something like that when some hacker had wiped out damn near three years’ worth of her blog archives? And how grateful I am her webhosting service had a backup they could restore, because I seriously wanted to keep some of those recipes?)
  • And some kind of delectable dessert, yet to be determined.

What else? Seems like it’s lacking something, and I’m not sure what. I’m open to any and all suggestions. Maybe something cute with chicken. Maybe those pesto and ricotta roll-ups. Maybe egg rolls. Maybe ham and biscuits. I’ll ponder on it.

And then, en route to N. GA, I’m going to stop off and spend the night in Nashvegas with Child B, for whom I will have to cook supper. And it will have to include mac and cheese, which she cannot eat, because son-in-law 1 loves it and I guess I’ll be kind to him since he’s fathering my grandchild-to-be.

Will try to check in with you and y’mama ‘n ’em occasionally over the next few weeks, if for no other reason than to try to figure out what day it is.

Leave a Reply

