Thanks, Spain!

July 18, 2010

New adventure for breakfast today:

Don Quixote and his homeboys knew what they were doing, despite that whole windmill thing.

Don’t know why it never really occurred to me to combine fried potatos, eggs and sausage, breakfast mainstays all, into this. I’d done something similar with a frittata, but this is a stovetop version that’s somewhat minimalist, having only four main ingredients and whatever spices you choose. And it produces this:

Everything's better with tomatos.

Now, this is a breakfast you can take home to mama ‘n ’em.

Not to mention, tomatos keep getting better and better. Damn, I love a tomato.

Anyway, to make the above lovely critter, I used:
  • 5 medium russet potatos, peeled and sliced about 1/4 inch thick
  • 1/2 pound andouille sausage, diced
  • about 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 6 eggs, beaten
  • Seasoned salt, paprika and pepper

It would have been better with onion, but I was catering to New Son.

I fried up the potatos, sprinkled with seasoned salt, paprika and pepper, and andouille (should have been chorizo, but I didn’t have that, and I had andouille) on medium high until the potatos were tender and starting to brown. Then I beat the eggs and poured over, tilting my 10-inch omelet pan to be sure egg got in all the cracks and crevices in betwixt and between the potatos and sausage chunks. Then I started running my spatula under the edges and lifting a bit, to let uncooked egg run to the bottom of the skillet.

Then came the tricky part. When there was still some liquid egg in the center, but the edges were set, I laid a dinner plate down over the pan and, holding the plate in place with a potholder-clad hand, flipped the whole shebang. And didn’t drop anything, which amazed me. Slid it back into the pan and cooked until I figured that side was done (probably 3 or 4 minutes), and slid the whole thing out onto the same (rinsed and dried) plate.

It’s different from a frittata because there’s no cream or cheese (though some grated Manchego would not have gone amiss). It really wanted pimenton de la vera, but all I had was Hungarian paprika and smoked pimenton, and I didn’t think I wanted the smoked flavor. And it would have been better with onion. But nevertheless, the egg-encased potato slices and sausage chunks are just delectable, and with sliced tomatos, a piece of sourdough toast and some fig jam, it was a fine breakfast.

Later kitchen plans include a pork loin, which has been marinating in Rendezvous rub since last night, with okra, roasted corn on the cob, and squash-n-onions. Oh, and I made slaw last night, too. Planned quickie-meals later in the week include:

  • Monday — steak and cheese sandwiches; I picked up some tenderized round steak at Kroger.
  • Tuesday — leftover pork loin with cheese in King’s Hawaiian rolls, grilled. Tiny little Cubans, essentially. Slaw. Baked beans out of a can for NS. Caprese for me.
  • Wednesday — Stuffed pattypan squash with sausage, cheese and bread crumbs, that I’ll prep Tuesday night and bake Wednesday. Butterbeans. Mac and cheese.
  • Thursday — probably pasta of some variety. (It’s a gym night. Pasta’s quick.) Or maybe pizza, if I think to make pizza dough Wednesday night. I could pick up Italian sausage, as that’s what NS likes on his.
  • Friday night, I’m going to do the shrimp-and-corn thing again, as Child B will be here and I know she’ll love it. And I think I’m going to splurge and order steaks from PJF for Saturday.

Meanwhile, I’m about to go put away laundry and then hit the lake. My tan needs a touch-up. You and y’mama ‘n ’em have a pleasant Sunday afternoon.

 

Leave a Reply

