The hell you say

June 19, 2010

Which were my words upon seeing the sandwich listed on the menu at some little sports bar in Murrell’s Inlet, SC, words that it would never in a bajillion years occurred to me to put together in a sandwich title, because it’s ingredients it would have never occurred to me to put together in a sandwich.

But there it was.

Blackened grouper reuben on marbled rye

And I repeat: The hell you say.

Or, to use the current buzz-phrase for such situations, “Seriously?”

So, of course, I had to have it, being a lover of grouper, a lover of reubens, and absolutely befuddled as to what such a concoction might taste like. It was, the waitress regretfully explained, mahi-mahi, as there was no grouper to be had at the market that morning. No matter. The principle is the same, namely, well, the hell you say.

It was pretty damn good. Big thick mahi filet, liberally sprinkled with Cajun spice before going on a hot grill. Couple of thick slices of Swiss. Sauerkraut. Thousand Island. And thick-sliced, grilled marbled rye.

I think it would have been better without the Cajun spice, just plain grilled. But the swiss and the kraut and the rye played surprisingly well with the mild fish. Who’d’a thunk it?

I’ve been away from the blog for a week or two¬†because (a) I’ve been busy as all hell getting loose ends tied up to be out of the office for a week, and (b) being out of the office, in South Carolina, for a week, where, I might add, it is even hotter and more humid than it is in Arkansas right now, and Myrtle Beach is possibly the most touristy place I’ve ever seen in my life.

Had some good meals, though. Great grouper filet topped with a creamy seafood sauce, crab and shrimp and scallops in a Mornay sauce. And some excellent tuna tataki in a little sushi joint in downtown Myrtle. Was underwhelmed with calabash style boiled shrimps — appeared to have been buttered, sprinkled with some kind of salty seasoning, and the cocktail sauce had no more than a passing acquaintance with horseradish and Tabasco. I’ll hang with the Cajuns on my shrimps, thank you.

Miserable flights to and from. It was my first time on US Airways. If I have a choice, it will be my last. However, they did not lose my luggage, which was a plus.

And there was Yuengling on draft at the pool bar, which is also a plus.

Tell y’mama ‘n ’em I missed ’em and I’ll be back in the kitchen before too long.

Leave a Reply

