OK, I’m due a win, here….

May 24, 2010

Because the  last two nights, dinner has been less than stellar.

Last night’s yiouvetsi was not a keeper. Tonight’s meat loaf, usually a dependable standard, was, well, not.

I came in from work, changed into shorts, and hit the kitchen. Child C had put the ground beef in the microwave to defrost. The ground veal had never been frozen to start with.

So I commenced combining, adding spices, adding the egg, adding the tomato sauce, crushing the crackers. Oops….forgot to saute the onions. Leave the stuff in the bowl and saute the onions and garlic. Add them the bowl, combine, throw it in the pan, bake 10 minutes at 425, turn down the oven, top it with ketchup, and….

Dammit! Forgot to add the cracker crumbs. There they are, still in the plastic bag where I crushed them.

Still tasted ok; not quite as good as usual, and the texture lacked much.

Sauteed squash. I had a combo of yellow and zucchini from the farmers market. Sauteed them together. I’d rather have just the yellow, and save the zucchini for fritters.

English peas. Didn’t cook ’em long enough.

Sigh.

I think I’ll do chicken katsu tomorrow night. Or maybe pizza. Or pasta carbonara. Or something I can’t screw up.

You and y’mama ‘n ’em sleep well. I’m going to bed.

One Response to “OK, I’m due a win, here….”

  1. Kate Says:

    We can eat “my” lobsters Friday or Sat. night if you are so inclined…


Leave a Reply

