From Denmark to Greece

May 23, 2010

Or, from  North Sea to Mediterranean, if you’ve got water on the brain, which I do, having spent the afternoon on the lake in between sessions in the kitchen.

Well, they weren't bad for a first attempt.

Here, aebleskivers, or Danish stuffed pancakes, cooked in a cute little pan that looks like an egg-poacher for very, very small eggs. It was a Christmas present that I just now got around to using.

I used pancake mix — Aunt Jemima Buttermilk Complete variety, if you wish to know, because I saw no point in making up my own pancakes when Aunt Jemima does it just fine, thank you very much.

I stuffed them — stuffing involving dropping the stuffing “stuff” in the center of each little cup — with browned sausage. That was not the best choice. It’s not heavy enough to sink; I suspect one should use something that’s relatively solid so it can be pushed down into the batter. On the second batch, I tried putting less batter in each cup, adding the sausage and topping with more batter; that worked marginally better, but the two halves tended to come apart when cut with a fork.

The other remedy, now that I think of it, might be to make the batter slightly thinner.

They taste like…well, like pancakes with sausage in them, although they look like little golf balls. I had mine with honey and apple butter. New son had his with regular pancake syrup. I’d like to try them with some kind of cheese.

And they’re cute!

Tonight, it’s yiouvetsi, which I keep wanting to call youbetcha, except that makes me think of Sarah Palin, and this has been a nice day, and I don’t want to screw it up by thinking about Sarah Palin.

So, yiouvetsi. I had this package of lamb stew meat in the freezer. I saw a reference to this recipe on the eGullet board, and I thought, h’mm. Greek tomato sauce, check. Orzo, check. Didn’t have pecorino romano or the equivalent Greek cheeses, but I had parmigiano; that ought to work.

The recipe is from Paula Wolfert’s Mediterranean Clay Pot cooking, which is available on Google Books here: http://books.google.com/books?id=DwtbDDGaQcIC&pg=PA135&lpg=PA136&ots=qlxLQC0_pR&dq=wolfert+greek+lamb+yiouvetsi+pasta+tomatoes+cheese#v=onepage&q&f=false. Sorry about the long-ass link; there is allegedly a way to insert a link and have it look like a blue underlined word, butI am not smart enough to figure out how to do that. Also, you can’t copy and paste from Google Books, and I didn’t feel like manually copying. So there.

It’s in the oven. I’ll come back and post a pic and let y’all know how it is, later.

Right now, I’m going to finish this cocktail, and wait for this stuff to finish cooking, and do whatever else comes to mind. You and y’mama ‘n ’em enjoy the rest of your day.

UPDATE: Yiouvetsi = meh. It was bland, not something I expected from Paula Wolfert. I tried it, found it singularly unappetizing — not yeccch-making, but not good enough to finish a small serving. I had pimento cheese on crackers, instead.

2 Responses to “From Denmark to Greece”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    Sorry about the long-ass link; there is allegedly a way to insert a link and have it look like a blue underlined word, butI am not smart enough to figure out how to do that.

    Use this pattern:

    <a href=”url”>Link text</a>

    Example:

    <a href=”https://kayatthekeyboard.wordpress.com/2010/05/23/from-denmark-to-greece/”>From Denmark to Greece</a>

    That should give you this:

    From Denmark to Greece

    At least, we’ll see if your comments take standard HTML code. If not, I’ll post a link to a reference you should be able to understand. Or email me and I’ll do ’em for you. 😉

  2. Len Cleavelin Says:

    Sunnavagun. It worked! 🙂


Leave a Reply

