Catch-up post (Part One of a Two-fer)

May 19, 2010

Last night (because I was whipped and didn’t want to blog):

Before.....

This was the makings of chicken stir-fry. The rice was cooking away in the rice cooker on the other side of the sink, which is approximately 12 inches to the left of the peas. Use your imagination.

And if you don’t have a rice cooker, ferGawdsakes, go to WalMart and spend a Jackson and get you one. Those are the handiest creations ever made.  You can also cook quinoa and barley in ’em should you be so inclined.

And the finished product:

....and after.

It wasn’t just absolutely, stunninglywonderful, but it wasn’t half bad, and it sure served for a weeknight dinner.

This one had two chicken breasts (boneless/skinless), 8 or 10 baby portobello mushrooms, a bunch of carrots, some frozen green peas, and some green onions, garlic and ginger. Basically, I just sauteed it all up together, and then sauced it with some mirin, some rice vinegar, some soy sauce, some sesame oil and some pad Thai sauce. Oh, and a little fish sauce and a little sriracha.

No, I didn’t measure. Get over it. Add stuff until it tastes good.

It occurs to me I could scramble an egg in with the leftover rice, fold in the veggies, and have real quick fried rice. I may have to do so.

Now, on to the next post, which I am separating from this one because, well, because I felt like it. You and y’mama ‘n ’em hang with me, here.

One Response to “Catch-up post (Part One of a Two-fer)”

  1. Whitney Says:

    I need your help, my rice cooker never gets rice perfect like boiling it does! Jay says its too hard, but it shuts off when done??? And any seasonings I put in our burnt to the bottom?

    H’mm. That’s weird. My only guess is that whatever kind of rice you’re using wants more water than you’re putting in it. Usually it’s 1 1/2 times as much water as rice; you might try upping that and see whatcha get. So for a cup of dry rice, try 1 3/4 cup of water, or maybe even 2 full cups. Does yours go to warm after it shuts off? If so, the extra water will help steam the rice tender. As for the seasonings problem, I don’t have a clue. Try sprinkling them on top of your rice and water before closing the cooker, maybe?


Leave a Reply

