Summery pasta, and technical difficulties surmounted

May 18, 2010

Pasta. Peas. Tomatos. Cheese. Poetry. I'm just sayin'.

The above photograph represents both a damn fine dinner and a triumph over technology, the latter of which is why I’m posting it at 6:30 in the freakin’ morning instead of last night when it was fresh on my mind.

My almost-new laptop told me it did not have enough quota to save the photos from my camera, but several hours of effing with it, along with a restless night’s sleep and renewed determination, fixed that. I got yo’ quota, right here, uh-huh.

But this pasta…these capreses….this is worth blogging at 6:30 in the freakin’ morning.

I had sugar snap peas and tomatos from the Farmers’ Market, and I knew I wanted to make use of them. I’d seen a peas-and-pasta recipe win a contest on Food 52. And Bittman had a peas and pasta recipe (well, it was edamame, but close enough).  So I commenced to experiment, and this one got fairly close to Sweet Baby Jesus territory, even if I do need to experiment with the sauce a little more. Not to mention it’s a 30-minute meal, except for prepping the peas, which doesn’t count because you can do it while you’re sitting on the couch watching the news.

  • 1 pound pasta of your choice (I used Barilla whole-wheat penne)
  • 6 oz. bacon
  • 1 pound sugar snap peas
  • 1 cup grated pecorino romano
  • 2 -3 scallions or a shallot
  • 1 tbsp chopped fresh mint
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream

String and snap your peas; rinse and dry them. Put your pasta water on to boil and dice up your bacon and commence to saute it. When it renders some fat, add the chopped scallions or shallots. Cook until the bacon’s crisp. Cook the pasta according to package directions, and when it’s about 5 minutes from done, throw your peas in the pan with the bacon. Stir occasionally. They will start to give off some water; when they do, dump the whole skillet full in the colander you have in the sink, let the liquid/grease drain, and stick it back in the skillet; there will be enough residual moisture/grease to finish it.

Turn off the heat under both pans. Drain the pasta and dump it back in the pot. Into the skillet, add the cheese, cream and mint; stir, and then dump that atop the pasta and toss.

Done.

I would like a little bit creamier sauce, and I may work on that next time, but this stuff is nothing to sneeze at. And the fresh capreses, with Farmers’ Market tomatos and basil from my herb garden? Honey. Those are so good I’m pretty sure they’re illegal.

Tonight, if I don’t change my mind, since it’s been Italian three nights in a row, it’ll be chicken stir-fry. Meanwhile you and y’mama ‘n ’em have a productive Tuesday; I’m off to the shower.

One Response to “Summery pasta, and technical difficulties surmounted”

  1. Tes Says:

    It looks great. The recipe’s simple, but seems delicious. Thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

