Sunday evening reflections

April 18, 2010

Well, I got almost everything done today I intended to do, except plant the herb garden. That’ll be tomorrow. We have thyme, oregano, basil, parsley, sage, and I forget what else, but there are two others. Lowe’s did not have tarragon, which I will hope to remedy with a trip to Whole Foods, where they have a huge rack of herbs out front.

Rosemary and mint. Those are the other two. I should’ve gotten dill, and will likely go back and get some. Besides tarragon, I also want some chives, and lemongrass if I can find it.

But I made the muffins and the pimento cheese and the braised beef with caramelized onions (and that? Yummmm!). And I did two loads of clothes, semi-straightened my bedroom, got a bunch of the “fat clothes” out of my closet, changed my bed.

And what did we have to eat after I cooked most of the day?

We had French toast, because I’d bought challah bread at the bakery yesterday, and once you have had French toast with challah, you’ll never go back to the old stuff. I promise. And Child C wanted French toast, and that didn’t sound like too bad an idea to me, either. But I have plenty to stand between us and starvation all week.

Good God. I think there were just about four errors on a single play in the Cards-Mets game. By the Cards. This is Not Good. I believe I’ll have another glass of wine.

Wine and French toast. Dinner of champions. I’m just sayin’.

You and y’mama ‘n ’em have a nice evening. I’m going to read and watch the game.

Leave a Reply

