Sunday cookery (well, and Saturday, too)

April 18, 2010

What it is, is, it's time to have one of these. Ya think?

Woof. It’s break time.

It is noon on Sunday. I’m cooking eat-it-through-the-week stuff, because I’ve already cooked two real meals this weekend, and this will suit me just fine for a casual Sunday with no one but me and the kids.

OK, it was also time to have four of these.

So far this morning, I’ve made a batch of pimento cheese and a double recipe of cheddar bacon muffins, because I have Let Myself Run Out  of PJF sausage and cannot make sausage and biscuits for the week. So it’s muffins instead.  And I’ve been to Lowe’s and gotten herbs and potting soil and am hoping  I’ll get my herb garden planted today (once I get the dead plants out of the pots on the deck). And I’ve done a load of laundry, and I’ve been to Kroger to get the makings for p-cheese since I used the stuff I had to make a batch yesterday, which I split between Jane, to take home with her, and another container for her to take to Child A.

Pam and Trish, remind Jane to deliver that. I already told Child A she was getting a surprise.

Cannot remember if I’ve blogged P-cheese before or not. There’s nothing more quintessentially Southern than pimento cheese; I didn’t realize Yankees had never experienced it unless they did so down here or were lunching or snacking with an expatriate up there. And there are as many recipes for pimento cheese as there are Southern cooks, and little excites as much passion (well, other than NASCAR and SEC football). Some samples can be found at this link: http://www.southernfoodways.com/cookbook/pimento_cheese_invitational.html. Here’s the way I make mine:

  • 1 1/2 cups grated sharp cheddar
  • 1 cup grated Velveeta
  • 1/2 cup Hellman’s mayo (the full-fat variety, please; we are talking cheese here)
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp Lawry’s seasoned salt
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper (or to taste)
  • 1/2 cup or so of diced pimentos

Blend it all together and let it sit in the fridge for a few hours for the flavors to play with each other. I like mine on Ritz crackers or saltines, but it makes a fine sandwich, especially with bread and butter pickle slices.

Still to come — a couple of quarts of  strawberries to be washed, capped and sprinkled with a little sugar and balsamic vinegar and a chuck roast to braise in red wine, shred and mixed with currently-thawing caramelized onions (thank you, crock pot!) and have for roast beef sandwiches all week. And a bed to change, more laundry to do, and assorted other stuff I’m too tired to think about at the moment.

It’s quiet on the lake today, as a front moved through and it’s cool and cloudy, threatening rain. Which it will of course do, because I washed my car. But I had to wash my car, because yesterday, we went out to Hickory Nut Mountain because it was, in fact, a gorgeous day, and we decided it’d be a good day for a picnic.

Actually, we kinda decided that en route to Hickory Nut Mountain, which I cannot show you because like an idiot, I forgot to take my camera. But as we were headed that direction, we stopped off at a country store and got bologna and cheese sandwiches, chips and Little Debbie oatmeal cream pies and something to drink.

Lord, what a bologna sandwich. Petit Jean bologna (Petit Jean Meats, not to be confused with Petit Jean Farms, which also sells meat, but not bologna). Old-fashioned hoop cheese (with that waxy red rind). Mustard, lettuce, tomato, homemade wheat bread. Homemade wheat bread. Country groceries have come up in the world since we used to get a big thick slice of rag bologna on Wonder bread or a four-square Saltine. And they put about half a pound of bologna, and a quarter-inch thick slice of cheese, on every sandwich. And most enjoyable, sitting on the parking lot wall several hundred feet above the prettiest lake in Arkansas.

That was, mind you, AFTER we’d had latkes, bacon and eggs for breakfast. Be assured I did not eat dinner.

So, break over, nourishment consumed, dog asleep, it’s time for me to hit it again. Lots to do, lots to do. You and y’mama ‘n ’em come on over and pitch in and help.

2 Responses to “Sunday cookery (well, and Saturday, too)”

  1. kayatthekeyboard Says:

    I trust everyone noted the error in the recipe — that would be 1/4 TEASPOON, not 1/4 cup, cayenne pepper. That would be some smokin’ pimento cheese. In any event, I’ve corrected it.

  2. jane Says:

    You’all need to make a copy of the pimento cheese
    recipe. This makes my second day of good eaten on
    the big bowl I brought home. Said pimento
    cheese slathered between the slices of whole grain bread purchased at Ambrosia bakery are just a little slice of heaven. Yum! Puts some love in your tummy!


Leave a Reply

