Real live cooking, again

April 16, 2010

How it is, is, like this. It’s been a busy week. I think I cooked, but I don’t remember a whole lot about it. It was probably something with a lot of starch and few veggies, to keep Child C and CCRB from starvation.

But this last two nights, I’ve had friends here from West Memphis, Jane and Joe, and I’ve been cooking. Thusly:

Example A: Red beans and rice, McClard's tamales, corn muffins with cheese.

Now, you have to realize, of these guests, Joe runs a restaurant. So, you know, I gots to get my cooking chops going. (Jane, on the other hand, does not cook, but she cleans, so it all comes out OK.)

Example B: Pork chops, roasted broccoli and carrots, salt potatos

Red beans and rice are a no-brainer. It’s one of the things I do best, everyone loves it, it’ll hold for hours on the stove, and it’s a no-muss, no-fuss meal. Soak the beans, stew ’em with seasonings of your choice (ancho chile powder, pico de gallo seasoning, Lawry’s seasoned salt, and I’m not sure what all else, along with sauteed onion and garlic, browned slices of andouille sausage, diced up ham, tomatos, a can of Ro-Tel, and let that stuff simmer a while.
And then they show up with a big honkin’ chocolate cake and a box of McClard’s tamales. McClard’s, for those of you who’ve not had the pleasure, is the barbecue-joint-of-choice of President Bill Clinton, who graduated from high school about a mile and  a half down the road from it. And when he visited Little Rock while he was President, you could count on seeing a  McClard’s truck backed  up to Air Force One at Adams Field. Bill was gettin’ him some barbecue.
 
For good measure, I stirred up some arepas — corn muffins, with a can of creamed corn and a healthy helping of grated cheese. Stuck to the pan like hell, but they were good.
Today, we went over to Purity Barbecue Lounge (no debit  or credit cards,  but they’ll take your check), and had lunch, but because we’re Southern and you cannot  eat too much pork, it was pork chops tonight. PJF pork chops, in fact,  from happy pigs (at least up to the point they passesd on).  I seared them, flipped them, doused the seared side in raspberry chipotle sauce I picked up at the Savory Pantry t’other day, and then finished ’em in the oven.
Roasted broccoli a la Ina Garten, with garlic, walnuts, olive oil and lemon zest; finished it with some lemon juice and grated Parm. Roasted carrots tossed in olive oil, cardamon and coriander. Cooked salt potatos — whole new potatos boiled with a full half-cup of kosher salt in the water, drained and then tossed in butter.
Tomorrow morning, I’m making latkes. Because I can. And it’s been a long time since I’ve had any. And it seems like the right thing to do. Except I, like a fool, did not realize I was OUT of PJF sausage, which means I will have to cook bacon with said latkes. Oh, well.
In any event, it’s Friday, I’m full, and I have a glass of good red wine beside me, and I’m about to have a slab  of chocolate cake. You and y’mama ‘n ’em forgive me the calories. I’ll be good next week.
2 Responses to “Real live cooking, again”

  1. Pamela Coulter Says:

    Ok Jane has been warned. She said it is in the car. So you better call her to make sure she takes it out of the hot car and gives it to child A. I love the pimento cheese recipe. Trish and I are enjoying your blog. Thanks for talking about us. We are your fan club. LOL See Ya Pam P.S. Jane don’t be a hater LOL

  2. jane Says:

    Since Kate got kudos for her prep work I just
    want to make note of the fact that I grated the
    parmesan cheese and the lemon zest. All of this
    in addition to lifting that heavy skillet! To me this
    was not bad for a non cooker! All of this while
    Mr. Restaurant sat and watched the ball game.


Leave a Reply

