Leftovers!

April 13, 2010

And capreses. Well, yeah. Because, well, capreses.

The time had come to do something with that leftover Easter ham. So some went in the freezer, and some went in dinner.

It may look like the cat threw it up, but it’s scalloped potatos and ham, and it was pretty doggoned good.

The scalloped potato sauce is kinda off-colored because I browned the roux a little more than I intended, and then I added a tablespoon of smoked paprika, leading to a sort of pinkish-khaki hue. No matter. It tasted good.

I peeled and sliced half a dozen Yukon Gold potatos, put half of them in the bottom of a baking dish, sprinkled over a cup or so of diced ham, added the other half of the potatos, and poured on the sauce. Sauce started with a roux of a couple of tablespoons of butter, a couple tablespoons of flour, a cup and a half of low-fat milk, some white pepper and some paprika; when that was getting thick, I added a cup of shredded gouda (pre-shredded, on sale on the cheese counter at the grocery), which made it too thick, so I added more milk. Then into the oven with it for an hour at 350.

Can’t knock it. It’s not inspired, but it’s filling and it’s good.

Sunday night was meat loaf. Good meat loaf. I had it for lunch yesterday at work, and may do so again today. Undecided on tonight, but I’m thinking tomorrow is a big pot of white beans and ham, because I also have the bone from the Easter ham in the freezer. Have also been contemplating some sausages in mustard cream sauce with German accoutrements (potato salad and red cabbage), as well as braised beef (chuck roast on sale at the grocery this week) that I think I’m going to braise really slowly, then mix with a bag of those caramelized onions I froze a while back, and have the makings for some good hot roast beef sandwiches. And I have pork chops in the freezer, too. We shall not starve.

What we shall do is get off the couch and get ready for work. You and y’mama ‘n ’em have a productive day.

Leave a Reply

