Old favorites tonight

March 25, 2010

I’m proud. I sliced up about a dozen onions with my arm in a cast. They are currently residing in the crockpot caramelizing themselves, since Child C and CCRB threw out my stash of onions when they cleaned out the fridge.

I let them live. It was tough.

But if I’m gonna grill a steak tomorrow, I freakin-A well want some caramelized onions and some blue cheese on it. It is yet to be determined whether I fire up the grill or pan-grill that baby; we shall see how we feel tomorrow.

In any event, besides the crockpot full of onions, I am making steak-and-provolone sandwiches again, because the kids loved ’em and they’re easy. This time, they’re with a marinara sauce of sorts (onion, garlic, basil, tomato sauce, red wine).

Oh, and head on over to the Food 52 blog, where my meatloaf is one of the Editors’ Picks for the week. Not in the contest running, but it’s nice to get noticed. http://www.food52.com/blog/591_editors_picks_week_39

Will report in more exhaustive detail on the weekend’s efforts. You and y’mama ‘n ’em cheer Cornell on over the Wildcats, OK?

2 Responses to “Old favorites tonight”

  1. Len Cleavelin Says:

    since Child C and CCRB threw out my stash of onions when they cleaned out the fridge.

    I let them live. It was tough.

    Damn, woman, you’re mellowing in your old age.

    😀

  2. Len Cleavelin Says:

    Ok, after posting that comment (I had a smartass attack, ok? So sue me) I went to look at the meatloaf recipe.

    Dayum, how come you never made that for me before?

    The menu for my next visit is just fine, but you must rotate that meatloaf into a future menu. Even if I try it myself, since I know yours will kick my feeble attempt’s ass six ways from Sunday.


Leave a Reply

